Committee on Library Advocacy (COLA)

Charge

To support the efforts of advocates for all types of libraries; to develop resources, networks and training materials for advocates at the local, state and national levels with particular emphasis on the grassroots level; to work closely with the Office for Library Advocacy in collaboration with the Public Awareness Committee, the Chapter Relations Committee, the Committee on Legislation, and other ALA offices, divisions, and roundtables as well as external groups to integrate advocacy efforts into the overall planning, priorities and polices of the association; and to cultivate future leadership in order to sustain and enhance the advocacy efforts of the association.

The Committee on Library Advocacy comprises 13 ALA members. It becomes active at the close of the 2008 Annual Conference. Terms last for two years, on a staggered basis, so that 6 members would end their term at the close of the 2009 Annual Conference, and the remaining 7 would end their terms at the close of the 2010 Annual Conference.

Roster

Gina Millsap (Chair, July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2017) - gmillsap@tscpl.org


Lauren Andrea Comito (Member, July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2016) - lcomito@queenslibrary.org

Queens Public Library


Susan S. DiMattia (Member, July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2017) - sdimattia@optonline.net

Di Mattia Associates

6 Landmark SQ #426

Stamford, CT, 06901


Judith Dzikowski (Member, July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2017) - jdzi77@gmail.com


Rhonda K. Gould (Member, July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2016) - rhondakgould@gmail.com

Gould Library Consulting

3222 S. 9th Street

Tacoma, WA 98405


Dr, Majed J. Khader (Member, July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2016) - khader@marshall.edu

Marshall University Libraries

One John Marshall Drive

Huntington, WV, 25755-0001


Nancy Jo Lambert (Member, July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2016) - lambertn@friscoisd.org


Daniel C. Mack (Member, July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2016) - dmack@umd.edu

University of Maryland Libraries

4119 McKeldin Library

University of Maryland

College Park, MD 20742


Natarsha Miller (Intern, July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2016) natarshamiller@gmail.com


Libby Post (Member, July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2017) lpost@commservices.net

Communication Services

PO Box 115

Albany, NY 12201


Hallie Rich (Member, July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2017) hrich@cuyahogalibrary.org

Cuyahoga Public Library

2111 Snow Rd,

Parma, OH 44134


Tracy Rose Sakon (Intern, July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2017) tracysakon@gmail.com


Gary L. Shaffer (Member, July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2016) gary.shaffer@tulsalibrary.org

Tulsa Public Library


Morgan Sohl (Member, July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2016) mmsohl@gmail.com

Olympia Timberland Library


Beth Wheeler-Dean (Member, July 1, 2015 - June 20, 2017) bethdean@guntersvillelibrary.org

Guntersville Public Library

1240 Obrig Ave.

Guntersville, AL 35976


Staff Liaisons

Marci Merola (Director, Office for Library Advocacy) mmerola@ala.org

Joaquin Falcon (Communications Specialist, Office for Library Advocacy) jfalcon@ala.org

Megan Murray Cusick (Grassroots Specialist, Office for Library Advocacy) mcusick@ala.org