Recipients of the James Madison Award and the Eileen Cooke State and Local Madison Award

Recipients of the Madison and Cooke Awards
Year Recipient(s)

Madison Award: President Barack Obama’s Review Group on Intelligence and Communications Technologies

Cooke Award: Open Government Project of the American Civil Liberties Union of New Jersey


Aaron Swartz, open access advocate


Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)


Patrice McDermott, Director


Meredith Fuchs, Counsel to the National Security Archive
The Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington (CREW)


Thomas M. Susman, director of the American Bar Association’s (ABA) Government Affairs Office


Sen. Russ Feingold (D-WI)


Paul K. McMasters, of the Freedom Forum's First Amendment Center
Patricia Glass Schumann, of Neal-Schuman Publishers


Steve Aftergood, of the Federation of American Scientists
Hollie Mannheimer, of the Georgia First Amendment Foundation


Richard M. Schmidt, served as General Counsel to American Society of Newspaper Editors (awarded posthumously)
The Minnesota Coalition on Government Information


David Sobel, Counsel and FOIA litigator, Electronic Privacy Information Center, Washington, D.C.

2003 Former U.S. Congressman Steve Horn;
Government of Arlington County (VA)
2002 Steven Garfinkel, retired director of the Information Security Oversight Office;
John E. Moss the author of the Freedom of Information Act (awarded posthumously)
2001 John D. Podesta, former White House Chief of Staff
2000 Larry Irving, former Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information
1999* Board members and congressional sponsors of the President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Review Board, including former Senator John Glenn and Representatives Dan Burton, Henry Waxman, and Louis Stokes and Board members: Honorable John R. Tunheim (chair), Henry F. Graff, Kermit L. Hall, William L. Joyce and Anna Kasten Nelson.
1998 Ben Bagdikian, journalist,
Wayne P. Kelley, former Superintendent of Documents of the Government Printing Office,
Eliot Christian and the
U.S. Geological Survey, National Library of Medicine.
1997* George Soros, philanthropist and financier
1996* The National Information Infrastructure Advisory Council
1995 The Government Printing Office, the State of Maryland's
Sailor Project,
the Seattle (WA) Public Library,
and the Internet Multicasting Service's Town Hall Project
1994 Secretary of Energy Hazel O'Leary,
and former ALA Washington Office Director Eileen D. Cooke
1993 The legislators who led the passage of P.L. 103-40, the GPO Access Act: Vice President Al Gore, original sponsor of the GPO Gateway to Government Act when he was in the Senate; Senators Wendell Ford (D-KY) and Ted Stevens (R-AK); Representatives Charlie Rose (D-NC) and Bill Thomas (R-CA)
1992 Journalist Nina Totenberg,
author Scott Armstrong,
and C-SPAN founder Brian Lamb
1991 Representative Don Edwards (D-CA)
1990 Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ),
Representative Henry Waxman (D-CA),
journalist Philip Shabecoff,
and the Office of Toxic Substances of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
1989 Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

* Honorary citations also were presented to several individuals and organizations in these award years.