ACRL 2012 Spring Virtual Institute

Extending Reach, Proving Value: Collaborations Strengthen Communities
April 18-19, 2012

About

The 2012 ACRL Spring Virtual Institute will feature a keynote presentation, concurrent live webcasts, and asynchronous lightning talks, allowing for convenient scheduling and flexibility.  All program sessions will be recorded and made available in the archive so you can view all the content on-demand at your convenience.

The Spring Virtual Institute seeks to unite all types of librarians around the mutual cause of reaching out to our constituencies, broadly defined. Examine how libraries, of all types, are capitalizing on community collaborations. Whether they support faculty scholarship and student learning, facilitate connectedness and foster literacy in a town, or reach out online, all libraries operate in the context of a community.

Program

Keynote Speaker
Wednesday, April 18, 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Central

John Palfrey

  
   John G. Palfrey Jr.
  
Henry N. Ess III Professor of Law and Vice Dean for Library and Information Resources
   Harvard Law School

 

 

John Palfrey is Henry N. Ess Professor of Law and Vice Dean for Library and Information Resources at Harvard Law School. He is the co-author of "Born Digital: Understanding the First Generation of Digital Natives" (Basic Books, 2008) and "Access Denied: The Practice and Politics of Internet Filtering" (MIT Press, 2008).

During his keynote session, Palfrey will discuss the Digital Public Library of America, an innovative and broad example of collaboration among many stakeholders and libraries.

Webcasts - Webcasts are offered in real time, allowing you to interact with presenters by voice or chat.  Learn more about the live webcasts including complete descriptions, learning outcomes, presenters, and schedule.

Lightning Talks - Lightning Talks are short, asynchronous presentations of 5-8 minutes, allowing you to view at your convenience.  Check out the lightning talk descriptions and learning outcomes.  One featured lightning talk session with live Q+A will be offered daily.

Registration

Fees
ACRL member: $150
ALA member: $190
Nonmember: $240
Student: $95
Group 3-5 attendees: $425
Group 6-9 attendees: $735
Group 10+ attendees: $995
Group additional site license: $25

How to Register
Submit an online registration.
Visit the online registration page and scroll down to April 2012. Select the "Register" link next to the ACRL Spring Virtual Institute. Note that you will need to log in with your ALA ID and password. If you do not have an ALA ID & password, you will be asked to create one in order to register.

Submit a paper registration. Print off a copy of the registration form (PDF) and remit by fax or mail.

Registration includes unlimited access to the Spring Virtual Institute archive for one year (until April 2013). Cancellations received prior to April 18, 2012, are entitled to a refund minus a $25 processing fee. Cancellations received on or after April 18, 2012, will not receive a refund.

About Group Registration

Group registration fosters teamwork through collaborative group events. Group registration is for a single log-in per institution (the group participates in the live events from the same location). Additional site licenses can be purchased for $25 if your institution needs multiple log-ins. After the live event, the archive information will be sent to the group's main contact and the contact can share the archive link with the other individuals in the group. This allows members of the group to access the archived materials on their own schedule.

Schedule

April 18        
EVENT TIME (Central) TIME ZONE CONVERSION SESSION SESSION
Keynote Presentation 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m 9:00- 10: 00 a.m. PT; 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. MT; 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. ET Keynote Presentation
John Palfrey - Henry N. Ess III Professor of Law and Vice Dean for Library and Information Resources, Harvard Law School
 
Break 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. CT 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. PT; 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. MT; 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. ET    
Concurrent Sessions 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. CT 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. PT; 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. MT; 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. ET

Two paired webcasts:

Concerts and Dances in an Library? An Undergraduate Library as Campus Cultural Space

Out of the Stacks and Into the Clubs: Student Organizations, Liaisons, and Library Outreach & Instruction

 

Two paired webcasts:


Read Smart: A Successful Book Discussion Series Where Town Meets Gown

Gown Meets Town: the One Book One New Paltz Common Read Program    

 

Break 2:00 - 2:30 p.m. CT 12:00 - 12:30 p.m. PT; 1:00 - 1:30 p.m. MT; 3:00 - 3:30 p.m. ET    
Featured Lightning Talk 2:30 - 2:45 p.m. CT 12:30 - 12:45 p.m. PT; 1:30 - 1:45 p.m. MT; 3:30 - 3:45 p.m. ET The Art of Library Collaborations: Archives and Documentaries  
Concurrent Sessions 3:00 - 3:45 p.m. CT 1:00 - 1:45 p.m. PT; 2:00 - 2:45 p.m. MT; 4:00 - 4:45 p.m. ET

One webcast:

Undergraduate Research Programs and the Academic Library: How Partnership Creates Successful Research Experiences

One webcast:

Library Outreach to Rural Communities

 

April 19        
Concurrent Sessions 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. CT 9:00- 10: 00 a.m. PT; 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. MT; 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. ET

Two paired webcasts:


The Missing Piece: Providing Outreach and Services to Staff Members

Study Skills for Success: Extending Librarians’ Impact with Continuing Education Students

 

One webcast (45 min):

eScience Initiatives in Higher Education: International Perspective

 

 

 

Break 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. CT 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. PT; 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. MT; 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. ET    
Concurrent Sessions 1:00 -1:45 p.m. 11:00 -11:45 a.m. PT; 12:00 - 12:15 p.m. MT; 2:00 - 2:45 p.m. ET

One webcast:

Workshop:  Toolkit for a Collaborative Dissertation Writing Group

One webcast:

Teaching a credit library instruction course to student athletes: A collaborative experience

Break 1:45 - 2:15 p.m. 11:45 - 12:15 p.m. PT; 12:45 - 1:15 p.m. MT; 2:45 - 3:15 p.m. ET    
Featured Lightning Talk 2:15 - 2:30 p.m. 12:15 - 12:30 p.m. PT; 1:15 - 1:30 p.m. MT; 3:15 - 3:30 p.m. ET See it, hear it: When oral histories and art collide  
Concurrent Sessions 2:45 - 3:30 p.m. CT 12:45 - 1:30 p.m. PT; 1:45 - 2:30 p.m. MT; 3:45 - 4:30 p.m. ET

One webcast:

Proactively Preventing Plagiarism: How a Library Workshop Affects the Campus Culture

One webcast:

Doing and Teaching History at The New York Public Library

Technology Requirements

The Spring Virtual Institute is designed to work with both PC and Macintosh computers, at dial-up Internet connections or higher. Live webcasts will take place on the Adobe Connect Professional platform. Headphones or speakers are needed to hear the live session audio. A computer headset or microphone is recommended, but not required.


Questions should be directed to Margot Conahan at mconahan@ala.org; 312-280-2522.