Search

Primary tabs

Search results

  1. Safely Labeling Postcards

    Dear Donia, How do I safely label postcards? Q. Dear Donia, I am a volunteer for my local historical society, and I’m working on a project that involves scanning over 300 postcards and then using content to create a digital record. I have each postcard in ...

    BMORRIS - 02/07/2019 - 10:45 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)

  2. Affordable Option for Safely Storing Family Heirlooms

    Dear Donia, How can I safely and affordably store family items?  Q. Dear Donia, I have a lot of different family items to store (clothing, paper, etc.). Acid-free boxes are too expensive for me and the quantities that I need so I was thinking of buying ac ...

    BMORRIS - 02/07/2019 - 10:34 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)

  3. Restoring Faded Documents

    Dear Donia, How can I restore old documents that have been faded? Q. Dear Donia, We have my mother's baptismal document, which is a very decorative document and in old (prior to WWII) German language. It's a large 11x14 document that's been ...

    BMORRIS - 02/02/2019 - 19:56 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)

  4. Communicating Impact Using Data Visualization

    Wednesday, 5/8/2019 2:00 PM-3:00 PM (Eastern) 1:00 PM-2:00 PM (Central) 12:00 PM-1:00 PM (Mountain) 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (Pacific) This is part 5 of the five-part series  Research and Publication Basics. You’ve collected all your data, analyzed the results, ...

    BMORRIS - 02/21/2019 - 11:12 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)

  5. Project Management in Libraries

    Tuesday, 1/8/2019- Wednesday, 1/9/2019 [show times] 10:00 AM-6:00 PM (Eastern) 9:00 AM-5:00 PM (Central) 8:00 AM-4:00 PM (Mountain) 7:00 AM-3:00 PM (Pacific) Many of us manage projects as part of our regular job responsibilities and have developed project ...

    BMORRIS - 02/07/2019 - 13:02 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)

  6. Discussing a New Division (ALCTS, LITA, and LLAMA)

    Tuesday, 11/27/2018- Wednesday, 11/28/2018 [show times] 10:00 AM-6:00 PM (Eastern) 9:00 AM-5:00 PM (Central) 8:00 AM-4:00 PM (Mountain) 7:00 AM-3:00 PM (Pacific) Join members of the project Communications Working Group on Tuesday, November 27 and Wednesda ...

    BMORRIS - 12/05/2018 - 13:17 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)

  7. Assessment in Technical Services

    Wednesday, 4/3/2019 2:00 PM-3:00 PM (Eastern) 1:00 PM-2:00 PM (Central) 12:00 PM-1:00 PM (Mountain) 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (Pacific) This is part 4 of the five-part series  Research and Publication Basics. Technical services assessment practices involve a vari ...

    BMORRIS - 02/21/2019 - 11:11 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)

  8. ALCTS Programs at Annual 2019

    Follow the conversation #ALCTSAC19 ALCTS President's Program: Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America Monday, June 24, 2019, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM Marcia Chatelain, Associate Professor of History and African American Studies at Georgetown Univers ...

    BMORRIS - 06/06/2019 - 18:54 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)

  9. Options for Photographing Newspaper Pages

    Dear Donia, What are the best camera and lighting settings for capturing newspapers pages? Q. Dear Donia, I have reviewed your replies to many questions concerning archiving newspapers using a camera. I have a large quantity and want to capture both pages ...

    BMORRIS - 01/10/2019 - 15:39 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)

  10. Ask Your Preservation Question

    Ask preservation expert Donia Conn a question about preserving your family photos, letters or documents. Each month one question will be selected at random and the contributor will receive a Document Preservation Kit from Hollinger Metal Edge.  Learn more ...

    JCARMICHAEL - 04/25/2017 - 08:58 - Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)