Search

Primary tabs

Search results

  1. ALA welcomes new YALSA Executive Director Tammy Dillard-Steels

    Dan Hoppe Associate Executive Director dhoppe@ala.org CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) welcomes Tammy Dillard-Steels as executive director, Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of ALA. Her first day at ALA will be T ...

    SZALUSKY - 04/25/2019 - 15:56 - News and Press Center

  2. Academic librarians 'Recasting the Narrative' at ACRL 2019 Conference in Cleveland

    Steve Zalusky Communications Specialist szalusky@ala.org CHICAGO – More than 4,000 librarians, exhibitors and guests convened in Cleveland to reflect and rethink the role of academic librarians in a changing and challenging society. With the theme “Recast ...

    SZALUSKY - 04/18/2019 - 14:44 - News and Press Center

  3. Libraries close the gap on unequal privacy during Choose Privacy Week 2019

    Deborah Caldwell-Stone Interim Director dstone@ala.org CHICAGO – This year’s theme for Choose Privacy Week  (May 1-7, 2019) — “Inclusive Privacy: Closing the Gap” — draws attention to the privacy inequities imposed on vulnerable and historically underrepr ...

    EDIAZ - 04/18/2019 - 12:15 - News and Press Center

  4. Carroll elected 2020-2021 AASL president

    Jennifer Habley Manager, Web Communications jhabley@ala.org CHICAGO – Kathy Carroll, lead school librarian for the Westwood High School Library Information Center in Columbia, South Carolina, has been elected as the 2020-2021 President of the American Ass ...

    JHABLEY - 04/23/2019 - 12:33 - News and Press Center

  5. Kristen Sorth Wins Ernest A. DiMattia Award for Innovation and Service to Community and Profession

    Cheryl Malden Program Officer cmalden@ala.org CHICAGO – Kristen Sorth, Director, St. Louis County Library (St. Louis, Missouri) has been named the 2019 winner of ALA’s Ernest A. DiMattia Award for Innovation and Service to Community and Profession. The aw ...

    CMALDEN - 04/18/2019 - 15:15 - News and Press Center

  6. David Paige elected 2020-2021 United for Libraries president

    Jillian Wentworth Manager of Marketing & Membership jwentworth@ala.org EXTON, Pennsylvania — David Paige, Trustee at Conway (N.H.) Public Library and editorial director, Libraries Unlimited, has been elected 2020-2021 United for Libraries president. P ...

    JWENTWORTH - 04/18/2019 - 09:43 - News and Press Center

  7. Kathleen de la Peña Mc Cook Receives the 2019 Joseph W. Lippincott Award

    Cheryl Malden Program Officer cmalden@ala.org CHICAGO – Dr. Kathleen de la Peña McCook is the winner of the 2019 Joseph W. Lippincott Award. This award is sponsored by Joseph W. Lippincott III and presented by the American Library Association for distingu ...

    CMALDEN - 04/17/2019 - 06:45 - News and Press Center

  8. Celebrate Library Card Sign-up Month 2019 with Special Toy Story 4 Tie-in!

    Heather Cho Campaign Specialist hcho@ala.org CHICAGO – This September Disney and Pixar’s “Toy Story 4” characters Woody, Buzz Lightyear, Bo Peep and friends are joining the American Library Association on an adventure to promote the value of a library car ...

    HCHO - 04/15/2019 - 10:33 - News and Press Center

  9. AASL awards six Inspire Collection Development Grants

    Jennifer Habley Manager, Web Communications jhabley@ala.org CHICAGO – Six school libraries from across the country have been awarded American Association of School Librarians' (AASL) Inspire Collection Development Grants. Made possible by the generos ...

    SZALUSKY - 05/20/2019 - 14:32 - News and Press Center

  10. Deborah Jacobs wins 2019 John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award

    Delin Guerra Program Officer dguerra@ala.org CHICAGO — Deborah Jacobs, former director of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation’s Global Libraries initiative, has been named the 2019 recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) International Rela ...

    DGUERRA - 05/02/2019 - 12:21 - News and Press Center