Search

Primary tabs

Search results

  1. Six trustees elected to the Freedom to Read Foundation Board

    Yumeka Brown Program Officer ybrown@ala.org CHICAGO — Six people were elected to two-year terms on the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) Board of Trustees in the annual FTRF election held this past April. Current FTRF Vice President Emily Knox and Executi ...

    YBROWN - 05/17/2019 - 12:23 - News and Press Center

  2. ALA releases new Libraries' Guide to the 2020 Census

    Shawnda Hines Asst. Director, Communications shines@alawash.org WASHINGTON, D.C.- Today the American Library Association released the Libraries’ Guide to the 2020 Census, a new resource to prepare libraries for the decennial count of every person living i ...

    SHAWNDA.KAY - 05/20/2019 - 09:21 - News and Press Center

  3. Coretta Scott King Book Award Breakfast celebrated at ALA Annual in Washington, D.C.

    Amber Hayes Program Officer, Outreach and Communications ahayes@ala.org CHICAGO — The ALA Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT) and the Coretta Scott King Book Awards Committee will celebrate the best in children’s and young a ...

    AHAYES - 05/14/2019 - 16:21 - News and Press Center

  4. ALA adding sustainability as a core value of librarianship

    Macey Morales Deputy Director mmorales@ala.org CHICAGO – Libraries play an important and unique role in promoting community awareness about resilience, climate change and a sustainable future. They are also leading by example by taking steps to reduce the ...

    MMORALES - 05/14/2019 - 17:31 - News and Press Center

  5. Erin Morgenstern among featured authors at Gala Author Tea sponsored by Reference USA at ALA Annual Conference

    Jillian Wentworth Manager of Marketing & Membership jwentworth@ala.org EXTON, Pennsylvania — Erin Morgenstern, Kate Elizabeth Russell, Kiley Reid, Karl Marlantes, Megan Angelo, and Gabriel Bump will be the featured authors at the United for Libraries ...

    JWENTWORTH - 05/14/2019 - 15:08 - News and Press Center

  6. COA announces accreditation decision made at 2019 Spring Meeting

    Kerri Price Associate Director kprice@ala.org CHICAGO — The Committee on Accreditation (COA) of the American Library Association (ALA) announces the accreditation action taken at its Spring Meeting, held April 25-26, 2019, in Chicago. What follows reflect ...

    KPRICE - 05/14/2019 - 15:06 - News and Press Center

  7. Satia Orange to deliver 2019 Jean E. Coleman Library Outreach Lecture

    Amber Hayes Program Officer, Outreach and Communications ahayes@ala.org CHICAGO – Satia Orange, the first director of ALA’s Office for Literacy and Outreach (OLOS) which is now the Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services (ODLOS), will deliver ...

    AHAYES - 05/14/2019 - 09:48 - News and Press Center

  8. American Libraries wins design award

    Carrie Smith Editorial Assistant csmith@ala.org CHICAGO —  American Libraries’ art director, Rebecca Lomax, has been awarded a 2018 Peter Lisagor Award for best design by a specialty/trade publication. Presented by the Chicago Headline Club, the largest c ...

    SZALUSKY - 05/14/2019 - 09:51 - News and Press Center

  9. Jennifer Sturge receives AASL Ruth Toor Grant for Strong Public School Libraries

    Jennifer Habley Manager, Web Communications jhabley@ala.org CHICAGO – Jennifer Sturge, specialist for school libraries and digital learning for Calvert County Public Schools in Prince Frederick, Maryland, is the recipient of the 2019 American Association ...

    JHABLEY - 05/17/2019 - 12:18 - News and Press Center

  10. A conversation with U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor at the 2019 ALA Annual Conference & Exhibition in Washington, DC

    Lina Zabaneh Conference Coordinator lzabaneh@ala.org Sonia Sotomayor, Associate Justice, was born in Bronx, New York, on June 25, 1954. She earned a B.A. in 1976 from Princeton University, graduating summa cum laude and receiving the university's hig ...

    MMORALES - 05/09/2019 - 13:15 - News and Press Center