Search

Primary tabs

Search results

  1. Libraries gear up for National Gaming Day @ your library

    Contact:  Heather Cho Media Relations Specialist 312-280-4020 hcho@ala.org For Immediate Release November 7, 2008   POPULAR GAMES SUPPORT LITERACY IN U.S. LIBRARIES   Libraries gear up for National Gaming Day @ your library CHICAGO- Game on! Hundreds of l ...

    admin - 08/04/2014 - 15:47 - News and Press Center

  2. Registration in full swing for YALSA’s first-ever Young Adult Literature Symposium

    Contact Stephanie Kuenn YALSA Communications Specialist (312) 280-2128 skuenn@ala.org NEWS For Immediate Release May 27, 2008   R egistration in full swing for YALSA’s first-ever Young Adult Literature Symposium CHICAGO —Registration opened this month for ...

    admin - 05/16/2013 - 15:23 - News and Press Center

  3. Schneider Family Book Award

      The Schneider Family Book Award is a new addition to the American Library Association’s Media Youth Awards. The award is donated by Dr. Katherine Schneider, and honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disab ...

    admin - 06/15/2012 - 09:33 - News and Press Center

  4. Genealogy institute advance registration ends Friday, Dec. 5

    Contact: Liz Markel Marketing Specialist 312-280-4398 lmarkel@ala.org For Immediate Release December 2, 2008 CHICAGO— Don’t be left out in the Denver cold with your family history questions—register for “ Behind the Genealogy Reference Desk ” by Friday, D ...

    admin - 04/29/2012 - 16:58 - News and Press Center

  5. Libraries stand ready to help in tough economic times

      By: Jim Rettig and Greg Worrell Posted December 11, 2008 | 12:19 EST When economic times get tough, the average American family's solution is to get creative. In rethinking their budgets, many families across the country are turning to a familiar p ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  6. Surge in library usage covered by national, regional and local media

    Contact: Jennifer Petersen Public Relations Coordinator 312-280-5043 jpetersen@ala.org NEWS For Immediate Release Dec. 30, 2008 Surge in library usage covered by national, regional and local media CHICAGO- Media outlets across the country are reporting th ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  7. Vernon E. Jordan, Jr. talks about the role of libraries in his life

    Contact: Steve Zalusky Manager of Communications, ALA Public Information Office (312) 280-1546 szalusky@ala.org NEWS For Immediate Release, December 23, 2008 Vernon E. Jordan Jr. talks about the role of libraries in his life CHICAGO – A video interview wi ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  8. Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation awards $6.9 million in grants to Connected Nation and the American Library Association

    Contact: Jenni Terry ALA Washington Office 202-628-8410 jterry@alawash.org News For Immediate Release December 23, 2008   Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation awards $6.9 million in grants to Connected Nation and the American Library Association SEATTLE — ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  9. ALA Washington Office Submits Report to Obama-Biden Transition Team

    Contact: Jenni Terry ALA Washington Office 202-628-8410 jterry@alawash.org NEWS For Immediate Release December 23, 2008 ALA Washington Office Submits Report to Obama-Biden Transition Team WASHINGTON, D.C. – The ALA Washington Office submitted a report to ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  10. ALSC announces exceptional Web sites for children

    Laura Schulte-Cooper ALSC Program Officer 312-280-2165 lschulte@ala.org NEWS For Immediate Release December 23, 2008 ALSC announces exceptional Web sites for children CHICAGO- The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the Ameri ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center