Search

Search results

  1. Picturing America Programs for Children

    Join Wendy Lukehart, Youth Collections Coordinator at the District of Columbia Public Library and fellow recipients of the Picturing America collection, to learn more about how the DCPL staff has conducted successful Picturing America programs for childre ...

    brussell3 - 03/13/2014 - 15:24 - Online Learning

  2. Common Core: Moving from Complex to Calm, Cool, and Collected

    The Common Core is asking teachers to move from rote and recall to rigor and relevance, and the librarian can play a vital role in this paradigm shift. This three module course on the common core, will help librarians understand how they play a vital role ...

    JHABLEY - 04/17/2014 - 09:05 - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  3. From 0 to 60: Implement eBooks in Your Library Program in 4 Weeks

    Navigating the world of eBooks has been a difficult but rewarding journey for the North East Independent School District. There are many eBook vendors looking to provide content to school libraries, but how do you know which one is best for you? This cour ...

    JHABLEY - 04/17/2014 - 09:09 - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  4. Design for Understanding Meets the 21st Century School Librarian

    The course is designed to introduce participants to the Understanding by Design Curriculum framework. Known as the Backward Design model, this framework is unique in that it begins with the end in mind. Rather than planning from an activity-centered focus ...

    JHABLEY - 04/17/2014 - 09:05 - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  5. Making a Place, Making a Case for Read-Alouds: A Powerful Teaching Tool for Literacy

    When is a read-aloud more than a great story? When it also ties in critical thinking skills. In this 4-week e-course, participants will learn how to infuse literacy skills while continuing to share the passion and power of a great read-aloud. The culminat ...

    admin - 04/17/2014 - 09:08 - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  6. Inquiring Minds Want to Know: Infusing Literacy Skills into the Inquiry Process

    Inquiry and literacy – are they one and the same or complementary processes?  Participants explore different inquiry models and how literacy can be instilled throughout. Course Objectives Understanding the purpose of an inquiry model. Evaluate inquiry mod ...

    admin - 04/17/2014 - 09:09 - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  7. Talk-Alouds: A Different Approach to Read-Alouds

    Wednesday, September 10, 2014 7:00 p.m. Eastern / 6:00 p.m. Central / 5:00 p.m. Mountain / 4:00 p.m. Pacific REGISTER NOW Many educators and authors support the importance of reading and its benefits. There are many texts on how to use read-alouds in the ...

    JHABLEY - 08/14/2014 - 09:38 - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  8. AASL Planning Guide: A Framework for Professional Growth

    Thursday, September 25, 2014 7:00 p.m. Eastern / 6:00 p.m. Central / 5:00 p.m. Mountain / 4:00 p.m. Pacific REGISTER NOW Library Supervisors lead professional development for librarians in their districts, yet experience tells us that adults learn best wh ...

    JHABLEY - 08/11/2014 - 13:39 - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  9. Coaching the Leader Within

    Tuesday, October 7, 2014 8:00 p.m. Eastern / 7:00 p.m. Central / 6:00 p.m. Mountain / 5:00 p.m. Pacific REGISTER NOW More librarians than realize it have leadership traits within. This webinar is designed to coach and develop those skills to better meet a ...

    JHABLEY - 08/11/2014 - 11:36 - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  10. Flipping the Switch: Everyday Advocacy for Your School Library Program

      It's not enough to have a great program that meets the needs of your students and staff, you need to "Flip the Switch" for advocacy. Take the time to build your personal advocacy plan to have needed support by the decision makers who affe ...

    JHABLEY - 07/07/2014 - 10:25 - 2 comments - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

Pages