Search

Search results

  1. Saving Stories in School Libraries

    Wednesday, April 29, 2015 7:00 p.m. Eastern / 6:00 p.m. Central / 5:00 p.m. Mountain / 4:00 p.m. Pacific REGISTER NOW In 2014, 48% of book challenges took place in schools. Join us to celebrate school librarians who have been successful in protecting the ...

    JHABLEY - 04/20/2015 - 09:37 - American Association of School Librarians (AASL)

  2. Banned Books Week

    ALA Events Celebration Sunday, September 22, 2013 (All day) to Saturday, September 28, 2013 (All day) Banned Books Week, an annual celebration of the freedom to read since 1982, is observed the last week of September. Each year, librarians, booksellers, t ...

    admin - 10/16/2014 - 16:01 - Conferences & Events

  3. Banned Websites Awareness Day

    ALA Events Celebration Wednesday, September 25, 2013 (All day) In an extension of the observance of Banned Books Week, the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) designated Wednesday, September 28, 2011, as the first annual Banned Websites Aware ...

    admin - 10/16/2014 - 15:43 - Conferences & Events

  4. Researching Banned and Challenged Books

    Student projects researching the reasons why a particular book has been challenged or banned are common writing assignments in both language arts and social studies classes. This page provides a guide to  some of the best sources for these assignments.  M ...

    karenmuller - 09/25/2014 - 18:18 - Professional Tools

  5. 1982

    "Since 1982, Banned Books Week has rallied librarians, booksellers, authors, publishers, teachers, and readers of all types to celebrate and defend the freedom to read. As we commemorate 30 years of Banned Books Week and enter our 31st year of protec ...

    HDAVIES - 02/26/2013 - 11:34 - About ALA