Search

Search results

  1. Lawyers and Librarians: Breaking Barriers to Employment

    Wednesday, 1/18/2017 2:00 PM-2:30 PM (Eastern) 1:00 PM-1:30 PM (Central) 12:00 PM-12:30 PM (Mountain) 11:00 AM-11:30 AM (Pacific) Many low-income residents of the District of Columbia struggle with both intermittent and long-term unemployment. Some of the ...

    SOAKLEY - 11/23/2016 - 14:33 - Programming & Exhibitions

  2. What Happened in Kansas City: Free Speech, Library Programs and the Law

    Thursday, 11/17/2016 2:00 PM-3:00 PM (Eastern) 1:00 PM-2:00 PM (Central) 12:00 PM-1:00 PM (Mountain) 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (Pacific) On May 9, 2016, a patron at the Kansas City (Mo.) Public Library was arrested by off-duty police, at the direction of a librar ...

    SOAKLEY - 11/17/2016 - 14:34 - Programming & Exhibitions

  3. Civil Rights and a Civil Society: A Library-Law Enforcement Partnership

    Wednesday, 12/7/2016 2:00 PM-2:30 PM (Eastern) 1:00 PM-1:30 PM (Central) 12:00 PM-12:30 PM (Mountain) 11:00 AM-11:30 AM (Pacific) Tune in and learn how Nashville (Tenn.) Public Library has partnered with local law enforcement agencies to develop an innova ...

    SOAKLEY - 10/13/2016 - 11:38 - Programming & Exhibitions

  4. Not Just for Kids: STEM Programs Your Adult Patrons Will Love

    Wednesday, 11/2/2016 2:00 PM-3:00 PM (Eastern) 1:00 PM-2:00 PM (Central) 12:00 PM-1:00 PM (Mountain) 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (Pacific) Looking to add adult STEM programs to your offerings but aren't sure where to start? Join librarians from Princeton (N.J) ...

    SOAKLEY - 11/02/2016 - 15:24 - Programming & Exhibitions

  5. ALA’s Sara Jaffarian Award Presents: Creating an Interactive Exhibit in Your School Library

    Thursday, 10/27/2016 2:00 PM-3:00 PM (Eastern) 1:00 PM-2:00 PM (Central) 12:00 PM-1:00 PM (Mountain) 11:00 AM-12:00 PM (Pacific) Find out how a school librarian and a history teacher created an interactive research project that engaged their entire school ...

    SOAKLEY - 10/28/2016 - 16:19 - Programming & Exhibitions

  6. Hosting a Scholar-Led Film Screening and Discussion (Archived)

    Linda Holtslander, division manager of programming at Loudoun County (Va.) Public Library, and Dr. James A. Baer, professor of history at Northern Virginia Community College, discuss how to organize and implement an effective film screening and discussion ...

    SOAKLEY - 09/13/2016 - 12:23 - Programming & Exhibitions

  7. Authentic Engagement: From Programs to Partnerships

    Hear from two leaders from the arts and culture sector as they share best practices for community engagement gleaned from their 20+ years in the field. Kathleen Benson, who served as project director of exhibitions and publications at the Museum of the Ci ...

    SOAKLEY - 09/13/2016 - 12:42 - Programming & Exhibitions

  8. Pokémon! How Two Libraries Scored Major Points with a Game Craze

    For 10 years, the Prince George Public Library (PGPL) in British Columbia, Canada, has hosted downtown walking tours highlighting historic buildings and landmarks. The recent "Pokémon Go" phenomenon has led to an increase in downtown foot traffi ...

    SOAKLEY - 09/14/2016 - 13:52 - Programming & Exhibitions

  9. ALA's Excellence in Library Programming Award Presents: Creating a Civic Engagement Series about Race

    Learn about the popular and award-winning Voices of Race series, winner of the 2016 ALA Excellence in Library Programming Award. In 2015 a coalition of Illinois libraries, schools and community organizations hosted more than 70 events as part of Voices of ...

    SOAKLEY - 09/13/2016 - 12:27 - Programming & Exhibitions

  10. Serving At-Risk Patrons: Lessons from Library Social Workers

    Looking for ideas on how to provide services to vulnerable customers in your library system? Join two library social workers to learn how libraries are on the front lines of social work – and how you can help patrons in need in your own communities. Jean ...

    SOAKLEY - 09/13/2016 - 12:40 - Programming & Exhibitions

Pages