Search

Search results

  1. Broad Public, Library and Educational Sector Support of Hayden Nomination

    Macey Morales Deputy Director mmorales@ala.org More than 140 national nonprofit and library groups, schools, and academic libraries urge Dr. Carla Hayden’s rapid confirmation as Librarian of Congress (Washington, D.C.) – "The Library of Congress has ...

    MMORALES - 04/21/2016 - 08:01 - News and Press Center

  2. Delaware, Massachusetts and Michigan school librarians unpack ESSA

    Jennifer Habley Manager, Web Communications jhabley@ala.org CHICAGO – On Sep. 17, more than 70 school librarians and educational stakeholders in Delaware, Massachusetts and Michigan attended workshops dedicated to unpacking the provisions for school libra ...

    JHABLEY - 09/27/2016 - 15:26 - News and Press Center

  3. Transforming Lives through Literacy: AEFL Week 2016

    Kristin Lahurd Literacy Officer klahurd@ala.org CHICAGO — As we mark 2016’s National Adult Education and Family Literacy Week, from Sept. 26 through Oct. 1, libraries across the country are transforming lives through literacy services for adults and famil ...

    KLAHURD - 09/27/2016 - 15:25 - News and Press Center

  4. Applications now available for United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grant

    Jillian Wentworth Marketing/Public Relations Specialist jwentworth@ala.org BRYN MAWR, Pennsylvania — United for Libraries is accepting applications for the United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grant through Jan. 9, 2017. The United for Lib ...

    JWENTWORTH@ALA.ORG - 09/27/2016 - 15:17 - News and Press Center

  5. ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom launches Our Voices

    James LaRue Director jlarue@ala.org CHICAGO – Today, the American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF) and Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services announced Our Voices, an initiative to offer a template to interested l ...

    MMORALES - 09/27/2016 - 15:35 - News and Press Center

  6. ALA seeks internationally active mentors

    Scott Shoger IFLA 2016 Fellowship Coordinator sshoger@ala.org CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is looking for internationally active U.S.-based librarians to serve as mentors for 50 new career librarians in the U.S. from diverse background ...

    DGUERRA - 09/23/2016 - 16:44 - News and Press Center

  7. American Library Association lauds bipartisan Senate bill to renew support for libraries nationwide

    Shawnda Hines Press Officer shines@alawash.org WASHINGTON, D.C. – Acknowledging and highlighting the critical role of libraries across the nation, the bipartisan Museum and Library Services Act of 2016 (S. 3391) was introduced today by Senators Jack Reed ...

    SHAWNDA.KAY - 09/23/2016 - 16:16 - News and Press Center

  8. ALA Executive Director Keith Michael Fiels announces retirement

    Macey Morales Deputy Director mmorales@ala.org American Library Association Executive Director Keith Michael Fiels announced today that he will retire in July 2017. Fiels has led ALA since 2002, making him one of the longest-serving executive directors in ...

    JCARMICHAEL - 09/20/2016 - 16:55 - News and Press Center

  9. Join the ALA-Sponsored Tour to Cuba during the Havana Book Fair, Feb. 10-17, 2017

    Delin Guerra Program Officer dguerra@ala.org CHICAGO — After a sold-out success last year, the American Library Association (ALA) is again providing an opportunity for members and others to be part of a Tour to Cuba during the Havana Book Fair, Feb. 10-17 ...

    DGUERRA - 09/20/2016 - 14:47 - News and Press Center

  10. ODLOS launches Intersections, calls for contributors

    John L. Amundsen Program Officer, Outreach and Communications jamundsen@ala.org CHICAGO – The ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services (ODLOS)is launching Intersections, a new blog that highlights the everyday work of library and informat ...

    JAMUNDSEN - 09/20/2016 - 14:44 - News and Press Center

Pages