Search

Primary tabs

Search results

  1. New Research: Librarians promote school readiness through Every Child Ready to Read programs

    Angela Hubbard Program Officer, Projects & Partnerships ahubbard@ala.org CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Public Library Association (PLA) have published a report called Bringing Early Literacy Home: An Evaluati ...

    AHUBBARD - 11/17/2017 - 13:18 - News and Press Center

  2. ALA and REFORMA create Adopt a Library program to assist libraries in the Caribbean

    Michael Dowling Director mdowling@ala.org CHICAGO — Hurricanes Irma and Maria devastated much of the Caribbean and libraries were not spared. In addition to its fundraising efforts, the American Library Association (ALA) is partnering with REFORMA, the Na ...

    DGUERRA - 11/17/2017 - 10:51 - News and Press Center

  3. New report chronicles library community’s front line battles against fake news, censorship, bigotry

    Macey Morales Deputy Director mmorales@ala.org CHICAGO –  Today the American Library Association (ALA) released its State of America’s Libraries Report, an annual report released during National Library Week, April 9 – 15, that captures usage trends withi ...

    MMORALES - 04/10/2017 - 10:12 - News and Press Center

  4. ALA Trustee Citation nominations due Jan. 15

    Jillian Wentworth Manager of Marketing & Membership jwentworth@ala.org BRYN MAWR, Pennsylvania — United for Libraries is accepting nominations for the ALA Trustee Citation through Jan. 15, 2018. The ALA Trustee Citation, estab­lished in 1941 to recogn ...

    JWENTWORTH - 11/15/2017 - 08:56 - News and Press Center

  5. Call for LLAMA webinar proposals

    Fred Reuland LLAMA Program Officer, Continuing Education freuland@ala.org CHICAGO — The Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), is now accepting proposals for its hugely popular webinar ...

    FREULAND - 11/14/2017 - 15:50 - News and Press Center

  6. Anonymous donor to match up to $100,000 of ALA Annual Fund contributions

    Sheila O’Donnell Director sodonnell@ala.org CHICAGO – As the season for gift giving is in full swing, the American Library Association (ALA) has an exciting opportunity!  An anonymous donor is matching gifts made to the ALA Annual Fund as of Nov. 1, 2017. ...

    MMORALES - 11/14/2017 - 09:14 - News and Press Center

  7. ACRL invites ACRL 2019 conference proposals

    Margot Conahan Manager of Professional Development mconahan@ala.org CHICAGO- The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) invites proposal submissions for the ACRL 2019 conference to be held April 10-13, 2019, in Cleveland, Ohio. Contributed p ...

    DFREE - 11/09/2017 - 15:32 - News and Press Center

  8. Booklist & AASL announce Schools in Need Giveaway Program

    Melissa Carr Marketing Director mcarr@ala.org Scholastic Partners with ALA  to Give School Librarians a Boost CHICAGO — Today, Booklist Publications and the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) announce an exciting initiative to provide expert ...

    JCARMICHAEL - 11/09/2017 - 09:56 - News and Press Center

  9. PLA, Gail Borden Public Library team up to expand DigitalLearn.org training resources

    Laurence Deutsch Manager, Communications ldeutsch@ala.org CHICAGO — DigitalLearn.org, the Public Library Association’s (PLA) website designed to help consumers increase their digital literacy skills, now includes a robust suite of resources and tools for ...

    LDEUTSCH - 11/09/2017 - 15:41 - News and Press Center

  10. ALA receives $1.1 million from W.K. Kellogg Foundation for reading and discussion model for underserved youth as part of national Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation effort

    Sarah Ostman Communications Manager sostman@ala.org CHICAGO — Libraries will engage more than 5,000 underserved young adults in transformative, humanities-based reading and discussion programming thanks to a $1.1 million grant to the American Library Asso ...

    SOSTMAN - 11/17/2017 - 15:16 - News and Press Center