Search

Search results

  1. New report chronicles library community’s front line battles against fake news, censorship, bigotry

    Macey Morales Deputy Director mmorales@ala.org CHICAGO –  Today the American Library Association (ALA) released its State of America’s Libraries Report, an annual report released during National Library Week, April 9 – 15, that captures usage trends withi ...

    MMORALES - 04/10/2017 - 10:12 - News and Press Center

  2. ALA Disaster Relief Fund to support Caribbean islands, Mexico, Puerto Rico, library rebuilding efforts

    Macey Morales Deputy Director mmorales@ala.org CHICAGO – The American Library Association (ALA) and the library community are supporting response and recovery efforts for libraries damaged by Hurricane Maria and the recent earthquake in Mexico through the ...

    SZALUSKY - 09/20/2017 - 15:44 - News and Press Center

  3. Building partnerships and passing legislation the focus of new ALA and AASL webinar

    Jennifer Habley Manager, Web Communications jhabley@ala.org CHICAGO – A new webinar from the ALA Chapter Relations Office (CRO), Office of Library Advocacy and the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) will facilitate a conversation about build ...

    JHABLEY - 09/19/2017 - 16:32 - News and Press Center

  4. ALA Recognition Awards and Grants

    Cheryl Malden Program Officer cmalden@ala.org CHICAGO – Nominate yourself, colleagues or your library for the 2018 American Library Association (ALA) Recognition Awards and Grants.  Unless otherwise noted, the deadlines are Feb. 1, 2018.  For general info ...

    CMALDEN - 09/19/2017 - 15:36 - News and Press Center

  5. Partnership supports renewed 'From Awareness to Funding' advocacy study

    Marci Merola Director mmerola@ala.org CHICAGO — The Public Library Association (PLA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), the ALA Office for Library Advocacy and OCLC are pleased to announce a partnership to produce an update to OCLC’s 2 ...

    LDEUTSCH - 09/19/2017 - 15:27 - News and Press Center

  6. United for Libraries to host Oct. 17 webinar on ‘Troubled Library Boards’

    Jillian Wentworth Marketing/Public Relations Specialist jwentworth@ala.org BRYN MAWR, Pennsylvania — United for Libraries will present a webinar on “Troubled Library Boards: Prevention and Survival” at 2 p.m. Eastern time on Tuesday, Oct. 17. Troubled lib ...

    JWENTWORTH - 09/13/2017 - 08:16 - News and Press Center

  7. ALSC now accepting applications for Strengthening Communities Through Libraries Minigrants

    Angela Hubbard Program Officer, Projects & Partnerships ahubbard@ala.org CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is now accepting online applications for the Strengthening Communities Through Libraries Minigrants. These grants ...

    AHUBBARD - 09/12/2017 - 16:19 - News and Press Center

  8. The Dollar General Literacy Foundation Grants $249,056 to ALSC and YALSA

    Angela Hubbard Program Officer, Projects & Partnerships ahubbard@ala.org CHICAGO — The Dollar General Literacy Foundation has awarded a Youth Literacy grant in the amount of $249,056 to the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Yo ...

    AHUBBARD - 09/12/2017 - 16:15 - News and Press Center

  9. ALA, library community support Hurricane Irma response efforts

    Macey Morales Deputy Director mmorales@ala.org CHICAGO  – The American Library Association (ALA) and the library community are supporting response and recovery efforts for the libraries damaged by Hurricane Irma.    “We extend our thoughts and prayers to ...

    SZALUSKY - 09/12/2017 - 16:14 - News and Press Center

  10. Readers invited to participate in Rebel Reader Twitter Tournament during Banned Books Week

    Eleanor Diaz Program Officer ediaz@ala.org CHICAGO — To coincide with this year's ALA Banned Books Week’s theme, “Words Have Power,” the American Library Association's (ALA) Office for Intellectual Freedom is harnessing the power of social media ...

    EDIAZ - 09/11/2017 - 14:08 - News and Press Center

Pages