Search

Primary tabs

Search results

  1. Libraries stand ready to help in tough economic times

      By: Jim Rettig and Greg Worrell Posted December 11, 2008 | 12:19 EST When economic times get tough, the average American family's solution is to get creative. In rethinking their budgets, many families across the country are turning to a familiar p ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  2. Surge in library usage covered by national, regional and local media

    Contact: Jennifer Petersen Public Relations Coordinator 312-280-5043 jpetersen@ala.org NEWS For Immediate Release Dec. 30, 2008 Surge in library usage covered by national, regional and local media CHICAGO- Media outlets across the country are reporting th ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  3. Vernon E. Jordan, Jr. talks about the role of libraries in his life

    Contact: Steve Zalusky Manager of Communications, ALA Public Information Office (312) 280-1546 szalusky@ala.org NEWS For Immediate Release, December 23, 2008 Vernon E. Jordan Jr. talks about the role of libraries in his life CHICAGO – A video interview wi ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  4. Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation awards $6.9 million in grants to Connected Nation and the American Library Association

    Contact: Jenni Terry ALA Washington Office 202-628-8410 jterry@alawash.org News For Immediate Release December 23, 2008   Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation awards $6.9 million in grants to Connected Nation and the American Library Association SEATTLE — ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  5. ALA Washington Office Submits Report to Obama-Biden Transition Team

    Contact: Jenni Terry ALA Washington Office 202-628-8410 jterry@alawash.org NEWS For Immediate Release December 23, 2008 ALA Washington Office Submits Report to Obama-Biden Transition Team WASHINGTON, D.C. – The ALA Washington Office submitted a report to ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  6. ALSC announces exceptional Web sites for children

    Laura Schulte-Cooper ALSC Program Officer 312-280-2165 lschulte@ala.org NEWS For Immediate Release December 23, 2008 ALSC announces exceptional Web sites for children CHICAGO- The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the Ameri ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  7. Dominican University supports ALA’s diversity efforts

    Contact: Gwendolyn Prellwitz Acting Director, ALA Office for Diversity (312) 280-5048 gprellwitz@ala.org For Immediate Release December 23, 2008 Dominican University supports ALA’s diversity efforts CHICAGO- The Dominican University Graduate School of Lib ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  8. AL Focus video features Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award

    Contact: Steve Zalusky Manager of Communications, ALA Public Information Office (312) 280-1546 szalusky@ala.org For Immediate Release December 23, 2008 AL Focus video features Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award CHICA ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  9. ALA, NEH announce 30 libraries to receive “Soul of a People” grants

    Contact: Angela Thullen Program Officer, PPO 312-280-5286 athullen@ala.org For Immediate Release December 23, 2008 ALA, NEH announce 30 libraries to receive “Soul of a People” grants CHICAGO – The American Library Association (ALA) announced that 30 libra ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center

  10. Annual Conference registration time moved

    Contact: Karee Williams ALA Conference Services 312-280-3221 kwilliams@ala.org For Immediate Release December 23, 2008 Annual Conference registration time moved CHICAGO—The first day of registration for the 2009 ALA Annual Conference has been moved from F ...

    admin - 01/03/2012 - 10:02 - News and Press Center