ACRL/RBMS Security Committee


To serve as a resource for RBMS members and others concerned with the safekeeping of books, manuscripts, and other special collections materials. Its duties are: (1) to disseminate information about incidents of theft and maintain a network of Library Security Officers in academic and research libraries; (2) to ensure widespread dissemination of approved guidelines developed by the Committee and to revise those guidelines as needed; (3) to develop other guidelines as appropriate; (4) to serve as a liaison between RBMS and other professional groups with security concerns including units within ALA (e.g. LAMA/BES), professional trade organizations (e.g. ABAA), other professional organizations (e.g. SAA), law enforcement organizations (e.g. local police, FBI, Interpol); (5) to undertake other duties and functions regarding security of special collections materials as directed by the RBMS Executive Committee.


Ms. Lois Fischer Black (Chair, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Ms. Ellen R. Cordes (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Dr. Christian Yves Dupont (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Moira Fitzgerald (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Michael Inman (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Audrey Pearson (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Ms. Elizabeth A. Sudduth (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2015. Last retrieved on 05/24/2015. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The committee composition is determined by section leadership.


Get Involved

Volunteer applications for ACRL appointments are accepted through February 15 for service the following term, which begins July 1. Visit for more information and a link to the volunteer form.

Staff Liaison

Megan Griffin
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Work: 312-280-2514