EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award

Submission Deadline: December 7, 2018

This award honors a distinguished academic librarian who has made an outstanding contribution as an education and/or behavioral sciences librarian through accomplishments and service to the profession.


Plaque. No cash award at this time. The Education and Behavioral Sciences Section is currently seeking a new sponsor for this award.

The award is administered by the Education and Behavioral Sciences Section of ACRL and is presented at the ALA Annual Conference.


Nominees should have demonstrated achievements in one or more of the following areas:

  • Service to the organized profession through ACRL/EBSS and related organizations
  • Significant academic library service in the areas of education and/or behavioral sciences
  • Significant research and publication in areas of academic library services in education and/or behavioral sciences
  • Planning and implementation of academic library programs in education and/or the behavioral sciences disciplines of such exemplary quality that they could serve as a model for others. 


Electronic submissions are required. Nominations should include a completed nomination form, a letter of support, and a CV. E-mail all materials to the award committee co-chairs: Yu-Hui Chen, SUNY Albany, E-mail: ychen@albany.edu and Stephanie Davis-Kahl, Illinois Wesleyan University, E-mail: sdaviska@iwu.edu. Questions? Contact Yu-Hui, Stephanie, or Chase Ollis, collis@ala.org.

Please submit a high resolution photo of the nominee (at least 300 dpi). The photo will be used to make the official winner announcement immediately after the ALA Midwinter Meeting.

View the full award committee roster here.

Submission Deadline: December 7, 2018

Previous Recipients

2018 – Scott Collard
2017 – Deborah L. Schaeffer
2016 – No recipient
2015 – No recipient
2014 – Stephanie Davis-Kahl
2013 – Judith A. Walker
2012 – Scott Walter
2011 – Douglas Cook
2010 – Penny Minton Beile
2009 – Gary Lare
2008 – John William Collins III
2007 – Patricia O’Brien Libutti
2006 – Elizabeth Oakley Hutchins
2005 – Kate Corby
2004 – Laurene E. Zaporozhetz
2003 – Ilene F. Rockman
2002 – Barbara E. Kemp
2001 – Charles B. Thurston
2000 – Leslie Bjorncrantz
1999 – Jo Ann Carr
1998 – Eva L. Kiewitt
1997 – Nancy O’Brien
1996 – Donald V. Osier
1995 – Hannelore Rader
1994 – Mary Ellen Collins