WGSS Award for Career Achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship

Submission Deadline: Sunday, December 10, 2017

This award is given annually to honor a distinguished academic librarian who has made outstanding contributions to women and gender studies through accomplishments and service to the profession. This award was established in 1999.


Plaque. No cash award at this time. The Women & Gender Studies Section is currently seeking a new sponsor for this award. The award is presented at the ALA Annual Conference.


The ACRL Women & Gender Studies Section Award for Career Achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship is designed to honor individual career achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship. Nominees should have demonstrated significant achievements and contributions in one or more of the following areas:

  • Service within the organized profession through ACRL/WGSS and/or related organizations;
  • Academic/research library service in the area of women and gender studies;
  • Research and publication in areas of academic/research library services in women and gender studies;
  • Planning and implementation of academic/research library programs in women and gender studies disciplines of such exemplary quality that they could serve as a model for others.   


Electronic submissions are required. Submissions must be made on the appropriate nomination form (available from the WGSS Web site). In addition, please submit a nominating letter addressing specific area(s) or criteria and citing concrete examples. The nominations packet must include 1 letter of support. Send your nomination packet to the attention of Dolores Fidishun, dxf19@psu.edu.

If possible, please submit a high resolution photo of the nominee (at least 300 dpi). The photo will be used to make the official winner announcement immediately after the ALA Midwinter Meeting.

Information & Assistance

If you have questions or require assistance in completing a nomination packet, please contact Dolores Fidishun, Penn State Abington College Library, T: (215) 881-7425, E-mail: dxf19@psu.edu or Chase Ollis at collis@ala.org.

View the full award committee roster here.

Submission Deadline: Sunday, December 10, 2017

Previous Recipients

2017 Jennifer Gilley
2016 Kayo Denda
2015 Connie Phelps
2014 Laura Micham
2013 Hope Olson
2012 Ellen Greenblatt
2011 Kay Cassell
2010 Cindy Ingold
2009 Linda Krikos
2008 Dolores Fidishun
2007 Sandra River
2006 Marlene Manoff
2005 Ellen J. Broidy
2004 Phyllis Holman Weisbard
2003 Ruth Dickstein
2002 Joan Ariel
2001 Sarah Pritchard
2000 Susan E. Searing