2018 ACRL Award Winners

Division Award Winners

Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award (Sponsor: GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO)

David W. Lewis
Dean of the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis University Library

Read the full winner announcement!

Excellence in Academic Libraries Awards (Sponsor: GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO)


Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, Virginia

State University of New York College at Geneseo
Geneseo, New York

Community College
Naugatuck Valley Community College
Waterbury, Connecticut

Read the full winner announcement! Applications for Excellence Award winners are available here.

Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (Sponsors: ACRL, ALCTS, LLAMA, LITA)

Larry P. Alford
Chief Librarian at the University of Toronto

Read the full winner announcement!

Section Award Winners

CJCLS Awards (Sponsor: EBSCO Information Services)

Library Resources Leadership Award

Library Program Achievement Award
Bucks County Community College, for its Learning Resources Faculty Institutes program

CLS Innovation in College Librarianship Award (Sponsor: Statewide California Electronic Library Consortium)

Teresa D. Williams, Business Librarian at Butler University

Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award (Sponsor: Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group)


EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award

Scott Collard, Head of Specialized Research Services at New York University

ESS De Gruyter European Librarianship Study Grant (Sponsor: De Gruyter Foundation)

Anna Dysert, Cataloguer Librarian at McGill University, for her project “A Survey of the Manuscripts of Isaac Israeli: The Transmission and Transformation of 12th-Century Medicine”

IS Awards

IS Innovation Award (Sponsor: EBSCO Information Services)

Trent Brager, Amy Mars, and Kim Pittman, for their work on 23 Framework Things

IS Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award (Sponsor: Emerald Publishing)

Jennifer E. Nutefall, as editor of the book Service Learning, Information Literacy, and Libraries.

IS Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award (Sponsor: ACRL Instruction Section)

PPIRS Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award (Sponsor: SAGE-CQ Press)

Allan Scherlen, Professor and Social Sciences Librarian at Appalachian State University

RBMS/Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards (Sponsor: Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab Endowment)

Category 1 Winner (Expensive)

Category 2 Winner (Moderately Expensive)

Category 3 Winner (Inexpensive)

Category 4 Winner (Brochures)

Category 5 Winner (Electronic)

STS Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences (Sponsor: Eunice Rockwood Oberly Endowment)


ULS Outstanding Professional Development Award (Sponsor: Library Juice Academy)


WGSS Achievement in Women's Studies Librarianship Awards (Sponsor: Duke University Press)

Career Achievement

Significant Achievement