WGSS Award for Significant Achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship

Submission Deadline: Friday, December 7, 2018

This award is given annually to honor a distinguished academic librarian who has made outstanding contributions to women and gender studies through accomplishments and service to the profession. The award recognizes those who have made significant one-time contributions.


Sponsored by Duke University Press. $750 check plus plaque for the winner.


The ACRL Women & Gender Studies Section Award for Significant Achievement in Women & Gender Studies Librarianship recognizes one-time achievement, by an individual or a group, during the particular year of the award. Achievement may be in any area of academic Women & Gender Studies librarianship, including, but not limited to:

• Publication of a monograph, journal article, website, or media product;
• Talk or other presentation at a nationally recognized conference;
• Innovations in Women & Gender Studies librarianship, including but not limited to instruction;
• Development of an exemplary program, collection, digitization project, or access tool to serve Women & Gender Studies students and/or faculty;
• Significant creative & innovative contribution to the work of the ACRL Women & Gender Studies Section.


Electronic submissions are required. Submissions must be made on the appropriate nomination form (available from the WGSS Web site). In addition, please submit a nominating letter addressing specific area(s) or criteria and citing concrete examples. The nominations packet must include 1 letter of support. Send your nomination packet to the attention of Dolores Fidishun, dxf19@psu.edu.

If possible, please submit a high resolution photo of the nominee (at least 300 dpi). The photo will be used to make the official winner announcement immediately after the ALA Midwinter Meeting.


If you have questions or require assistance in completing a nomination packet, please contact Dolores Fidishun, Penn State Abington College Library, T: (215) 881-7425, E-mail: dxf19@psu.edu or Chase Ollis at collis@ala.org.

View the full award committee roster here.

Submission Deadline: Friday, December 7, 2018

Previous Recipients

2018 Shirley Lew and Baharak Yousefi
2017 Janet Weaver
2016 No recipient
2015 Nancy Goebel
2014 Maria T. Accardi
2013 Randy Gue
2012 Kayo Denda, Rhonda Marker, Li Sun, Lucy Vidal, Alicia Graham and Kirsten Canfield
2010 No recipient
2009 Ken Middleton
2008 Jane Sloan
2007 Jennifer Gilley, Kayo Denda, Jenna Freedman, Sharon Ladenson
2006 Katherine Kraft; Carrie Kruse and Cynthia Johnson
2005 Cindy Ingold and Linda Krikos
2004 Donna Roe
2003 Sherri Barnes
2002 Eri Fujieda, Meg Miner, Beth Stafford
2001 Marilyn Dunn
2000 Lynn Westbrook

This award was previously sponsored by ABC-CLIO Greenwood.