STS Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences

Submission Deadline: December 7, 2018

The Oberly Award was established in 1923 in memory of Eunice Rockwood Oberly, librarian of the Bureau of Plant Industry, United States Department of Agriculture from 1908 to 1921. She was the Bureau of Plant Industry's representative to the Congressional Joint Commission on Reclassification of Government Employees and was instrumental in gaining a fairer recognition of library activities. This biennial award is given in odd-numbered years for the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science.


The author(s) will receive a cash award and a plaque, funded by an endowment created by individuals and vendor contributions, including the U.S. Agricultural Information Network, the Agway Foundation, Associates of the National Agricultural Library, the Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries, and the Cargill Information Center.


English-language print or electronic bibliographies in any format in the field of agriculture or a related science published during the two-year period preceding the year in which the award is presented. Bibliographies may be a print or electronic monograph, a completed series viewed as a body of work, or an ongoing print or electronic publication.


Bibliographies submitted for award consideration are judged on accuracy, scope, usefulness, format, and special features such as explanatory introductions, annotations, and indexes.


Nominations for the 2019 award are currently being accepted and may be made in the form of a letter. They should point out the reason the bibliography should be considered. A copy of the bibliography should accompany the nomination.

Send nominations or questions to the award Co-Chairs, Sara Scheib, University of Iowa, E-mail: or Zoe Pettway Uno, University of Southern California, E-mail: You may also contact Chase Ollis,

View the full Award committee roster here.

Submission Deadline: December 7, 2018

Previous Recipients

2017 – Frank Scholze and Michael Witt for
2015 – James B. Beard, Harriet J. Beard, and James C. Beard. Turfgrass History and Literature: Lawns, Sports, and Golf.
2013 – Jan Scholl, Amy Paster, and team, for their 4-H and Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) research databases
2011 – William R. Shurtleff, Founder and President of the Soyinfo Center, for his bibliography “History of Soybeans and Soyfoods in Africa (1857-2009): Extensively Annotated Bibliography and Sourcebook.”  Honorable mention: Organic Eprints.
2009 – Rice Database
2007 – AgEcon Search, Louise Letnes, Patricia Rodkewich, and Julie Kelly
2005 – No recipient
2003 – David G. Frodin. Guide to Standard Floras of the World. Second Edition.
2001 –  Biodiversity Studies: A Bibliographic Review, by Charles H. Smith
1999 - Wolves: Ecology, Conservation and Management, An Annotated Bibliography, Eli MacLaren
1997 – The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen
1995 – A Guide to the Zoological Literature: The Animal Kingdom, George H. Bell & Diane B. Rhodes
1993 – Acid Rain: A Bibliography of Canadian Federal and Provincial Government Documents, Albert H. Joy
1991 – Useful Palms of the World, A Syoptic Bibliography, Michael J. Balick & Hans T. Beck
1987 – Women, Agriculture and Rural Development in Latin America, Jacqueline A. Ashby & Stella Gomez