ACRL/IS Awards Committee


To recognize outstanding scholarship, instructional programming, and leadership among our colleagues by choosing the recipients of the Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award, the Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award, and the Instruction Section Innovation Award. The committee will proactively research possible nominees for these awards and solicit nominations widely from membership, and convey their decisions to the Executive Committee. The committee will periodically review the selection criteria for honorees; coordinate publicity related to individual awards and award recipients according to ALA/ACRL award procedures; update information about award winners on the Section web site; and update the internal documents that guide the committee. The Committee also coordinates the awards ceremony, plaques and certificates, and invites the honorees to the IS Soiree. The committee will also regularly evaluate the need for new awards and investigate ongoing funding sources. 


Ms. Elana Deana Karshmer (Chair, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Amy L. Deuink (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Mandi Goodsett (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Maoria Kirker (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Catherine Fraser Riehle (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Ms. Rebecca Jo Starkey (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Mark Szarko (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Anna Mary Williford (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2016)
Ellysa Stern Cahoy (Liaison, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Chase Ollis (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2015. Last retrieved on 05/25/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The committee composition is determined by section leadership.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

For more information about the Instruction Section awards, visit the Miriam Dudley Award page here, the Innovation Award page here, and the Ilene F. Rockman Award page here.

Staff Liaison

Chase Ollis
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL  60611-2788
Work: 312-280-2521