Samuel Lazerow Fellowship For Research in Collections and Technical Services in Academic and Research Libraries

Samuel Lazerow led a distinguished career as a major contributor to the advancement of information technology at the Library of Congress, the National Library of Medicine, and the National Agriculture Library among others. He ended his career as Senior Vice-president at the Institute for Scientific Information.

This award fosters advances in collections or technical services by providing fellowships to librarians for travel or writing in those fields. Research projects in the compilation of bibliographies will not be supported by this fellowship.


This award has been cancelled.


The proposals will be judged with an emphasis on the following:

  • Potential significance of the project to acquisitions or technical services work
  • Originality and creativity
  • Clarity and completeness of the proposal
  • Evidence of an interest in scholarship (previous publication record)
Previous Recipients

2010 – No recipient
2009 – Sara Marcus for her research project on the change of terms and terminology over several editions of the Sears List of Subject Headings.
2008 – Ping Situ and Shuyong Jiang for their research project on vendor-provided records and the experience of a research library in outsourcing cataloging service for its Chinese language materials.
2007 – No recipient
2006 – Kyung-Sun Kim, "Factors Affecting the Selection of Information Sources."
2005– Kristin R. Eschenfelder, "Investigating the Impact of Digital Rights Management Systems on Libraries: A Pilot Study."
2004 – Karen M. Letarte and Jacqueline P. Samples for their research proposal entitled "Looking at FRBR Through Users' Eyes: Toward Improved Catalog Displays for Electronic Serials."
2003 – Katharine Farrell & Marc Truitt
2002 – Jeffrey Beall
2001 – Adam Chandler
2000 – Kyle Banerjee
1998 – Dilys E. Morris
1997 – Linda M. Golian
1996 – Jimmie Lundgren & Betsy Simpson
1995 – Karen A. Schmidt
1994 – Kuang-Hwei (Janet) Lee-Smeltzer
1992 – Eric A. Johnson
1990 – Terence K. Huwe
1989 – Robert H. Burger
1988 – Carol Kelley
1987 – Margaret Johnson
1985 – Anne L. Highsmith
1983 – Denise Bedford

Sponsorship provided by Thomson Reuters from 1983-2010.  This award was cancelled after 2010 award season.