2014 ACRL Award Winners

Division Award Winners

Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award (Donor: YBP Library Services)
Tim Bucknall, Assistant Dean of Libraries and Head of Electronic Resources and Information Technology at the University of North Carolina, Greensboro

Excellence in Academic Libraries (Donor: YBP Library Services)
University: Cal Poly State University, San Luis Obispo, California
College: Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania
Community College: Illinois Central College, East Peoria, Illinois

Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (ACRL, ALCTS, LLAMA, LITA)
Anne R. Kenney, Carl A. Kroch University Librarian at Cornell University

Section Award Winners

CJCLS Awards
Library Resources Leadership Award
David M. Rodriguez, Faculty Librarian at Maricopa Community College District and Glendale Community College (AZ)

Library Program Achievement Award
Parkland College Library and Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

CLS ProQuest Innovation in College Librarianship Award (Donor: ProQuest)
Tish Hayes, Terra B. Jacobson, and Troy A. Swanson, all of the Moraine Valley Community College Library

Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award (Donor: Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group.)
Frederick Stielow, Vice President/Dean of Libraries, Electronic Course Materials, & APUS ePress at the American Public University System

EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award (Donor: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.)
Stephanie Davis-Kahl, Scholarly Communications Librarian and Associate Professor at Illinois Wesleyan University

IS Awards
IS Innovation Award (Donor: ProQuest)
Meredith Farkas, Amy Hofer, Lisa Molinelli, and Kimberly Willson-St. Clair, all of Portland State University Libraries

IS Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award (Donor: Emerald Publishing Group Unlimited)
Wendy Holliday, Head of Academic Programs and Course Support at Northern Arizona University, and Jim Rogers, Associate Professor and Director of the Intensive English Language Institute at Utah State University

IS Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award (Donor: ACRL Instruction Section)
Esther Stampfer Grassian, Distinguished Librarian (emerita), University of California-Los Angeles (UCLA) College Library

LPSS Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award (Donor: SAGE-CQ Press)
Brian E. Coutts, Professor and Head of the Department of Library Public Services at Western Kentucky University

RBMS/Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards (Donor: Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab Endowment)
Category 1 Winner (Expensive)
Bruce Peel Special Collections Library, University of Alberta for All Under Heaven: The Chinese World in Maps, Pictures, and Texts from the Collection of Floyd Sully
Category 1 Honorable Mention (Expensive)
American Antiquarian Society for “In Pursuit of a Vision: Two Centuries of Collecting at the American Antiquarian Society
Category 2 Winner (Moderately Expensive)
Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University for Deeper than Swords: Celebrating the Work of George R. R. Martin
Category 2 Honorable Mention (Moderately Expensive)
Special Collections Library, Vassar College for Shirley Jones and the Red Hen Press
Category 3 Winner (Inexpensive)
The Lewis Walpole Library, Yale University for Dancing on a Sunny Plain: The Life of Annie Burr Auchincloss Lewis
Category 4 Winner (Brochures)
The Rare Books & Manuscripts Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for Marcel Prouse: Writing Without End
Category 5 Winner (Electronic Exhibitions)
John Carter Brown Library, Brown University for Sugar and Visual Imagination in the Atlantic World, circa 1600-1850

STS Innovation in Science and Technology Librarianship Award (Donor: IEEE)

STS Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences (Donor: Eunice Rockwood Oberly Endowment)

WESS De Gruyter European Librarianship Study Grant  (Donor: De Gruyter Foundation)
Marta Mestrovic Deyrup, Professor and Librarian for Technical Services, Italian, Russian, and East European Studies

WGSS Achievement in Women’s Studies Librarianship Awards
Career Achievement
Laura Micham, Merle Hoffmann Director of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History and Culture and Curator of Gender and Sexuality History Collections in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Books and Manuscripts Library at Duke University

Significant Achievement
Maria T. Accardi, Coordinator of Library Instruction at Indiana University Southeast