Board of Directors


The composition and the duties of the Board of Directors are defined in Article IX of the ACRL Bylaws; Board of Directors. The Board of Directors shall have general oversight and direction of the affairs of the Association. It shall conduct all business pertaining to the Association, and shall have authority to make decisions for the Association during the periods between meetings.


Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe (ACRL President, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011)
Joyce L. Ogburn (ACRL President-Elect, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011)
Lori Goetsch (ACRL Past President, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2011)
Ann Campion Riley (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2013)
Ms. Lisabeth A. Chabot (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2013)
Elizabeth A. Dupuis (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2007, to June 30, 2011)
Dr. Mark Emmons (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2014)
Linda A. Kopecky (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2012)
Mr. Michael J. LaCroix (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2007, to June 30, 2011)
Mr. John A. Lehner (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2012)
Mary Ann Sheble (Director-at-Large, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2014)
Ms. Maggie Farrell (ACRL Division Councilor, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2013)
Janice D. Welburn (Budget and Finance Chair, July 16, 2009, to July 1, 2011)
Mary Ellen K. Davis (Ex-Officio Member, June 30, 2010, to July 1, 2011)
Katharine Coombes (Staff Liaison, June 30, 2010, to July 1, 2011)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2010. Last retrieved on 05/27/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


During the ALA Connect gray-out period from March 26, 2018 to April 25, 2018, links to Board documents and virtual votes will be posted here. 

Board Documents

Virtual Discussions & Votes


ACRL Bylaws article IX section 1 states the Board of Directors shall consist of the officers of the Association, the chair of the Budget & Finance Committee, the ACRL councilor, and eight elected directors-at-large. The ACRL executive director shall be an ex-officio member without vote. 

Committees & Task Forces

ACRL Committees

ACRL Task Forces


In 1889, a group of 13 college librarians caucused at the Annual Conference in St. Louis and recommended that a college library section be formed. 

In 1897 the section acquired a new name, the College and Reference Library Section (to recognize the participation of reference librarians) and, after the turn of the century, began to select officers to plan annual meetings. Not until 1923, however, did the section adopt its own bylaws.

In 1936 the chair of the section appointed a Committee on Reorganization to develop plans for restructuring the section. The final report of the committee in 1938 recommended the adoption of new bylaws that would transform the section into an Association of College and Reference Libraries with full autonomy over its own affairs. The new bylaws provided for the creation of subsections within the association for college libraries, junior college libraries, teachers college libraries, university libraries, and other groups that might wish to affiliate.

The section approved the proposed bylaws in June 1938 and officially became the Association of College and Reference Libraries (ACRL) by the end of the year. The ALA Council responded by ratifying a new ALA constitution that made provision for the creation of self-governing divisions within ALA, entitled to receive a share of ALA dues. ACRL swiftly prepared a new constitution to meet the conditions for division status, and the ALA Council recognized ACRL as ALA's first division on May 31, 1940.

Get Involved

The Leadership Recruitment and Nominations Committee identifies candidates to stand for election to the Board of Directors. All personal members are entitled to vote. 

Staff Liaison

Allison Payne
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611-2788
Work: 312-280-2519