Rare Books and Manuscripts Section


Exercises leadership in the local, national, and international special collections communities to represent and promote concerns related to rare books, manuscripts, and other special collections.
The official RBMS committee rosters are listed below, and the RBMS website is available here.


Shannon K. Supple (Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Dr. Elizabeth Haven Hawley (Secretary, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Ms. Athena Nicole Jackson (Past-Chairperson, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Elizabeth Call (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2020)
Heather M. Smedberg (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2019)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2018. Last retrieved on 02/21/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


As of August 2017, RBMS had 1,682 members. The committee composition is determined by section leadership.

RBMS Committees

Log-in to view full contact information.


The Rare Books and Manuscripts Section was established in 1958.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

Staff Liaison

Megan Griffin
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Work: 312-280-2514
E-mail: mgriffin@ala.org