Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award

law and political science section logo     

The Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award, established in 1995 in honor of past LPSS Chair Marta Lange, recognizes distinction in law and political science librarianship. The award sponsor is SAGE-CQ Press.  Recipients receive a plaque, $1,000, and the accolades of their peers.

The award criteria are broad and flexible, and membership in LPSS or ALA is not required. Nominators provide a letter of support and the nominee's vita, and may include additional supporting letters and documentation, as appropriate.

The success of the Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award depends on those who take the initiative to submit nominations. Please consider honoring a worthy colleague! Nomination requirements and details are available here.

If you have any questions, please contact Kelly Janousek, the Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award Committee chair.

Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award Winners (Complete List)

2014 Brian E. Coutts, Western Kentucky University

“Brian's scholarship is impressive, beginning his research and writing about Belize when it was still British Honduras, and over time interviewing all of the former Prime Ministers of that country for biographical sketches of their lives for two editions of  The Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture,” said award chair Kelly Janousek, librarian at California State University-Long Beach. “As a former winner of the Reference and User Services Association’s (RUSA) Louis Shores Oryx Press Award in 1999, he has stayed true to his bibliography roots with an annual article for Library Journal, ‘Best Reference Sources of the Year,’ since 1987.”

2013 Kathi Carlisle Fountain, Washington State University
2012 John Eaton, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg
2011 Stephen E. Atkins, Texas A&M University
2010 Bruce Pencek, Virginia Tech University
2009 Lynne M. Rudasill, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
2008 Lisa Norberg, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
2007 Binh Le, Pennsylvania State University, Abington
2006 Graham R. Walden, The Ohio State University Libraries
2005 Merle J. Slyhoff, University of Pennsylvania, Biddle Law Library
2004 Lucia Snowhill, University of California, Santa Barbara
2003 Rosemary Allen Little, Public Administration, Politics and Law Librarian at Princeton University Library
2002 Mary K. Fetzer, Rutgers University
2001 Cheryl Nyberg, Gallagher Law Library, University of Washington
2000 Grace York, Coordinator, Documents Center, University of Michigan Library
1999 Dr. Jolande E. Goldberg, Senior Cataloging Policy Specialist (Law Classification), Library of Congress
1998 Laura N. "Lolly" Gasaway
1997 Grace W. "Betty" Taylor
1996 Robert Goehlert

Last updated: July 21, 2014

This page is maintained by Jennifer Schwartz, DePaul University Libraries

LPSS logo design by Candy D. McCormic, Digital Library Services, University of Texas at Arlington.