LES Meeting Schedule San Antonio 2006

Literatures in English Section

Schedule of Events – ALA Midwinter 2006

What is LES?

The Literatures in English Section (LES) is part of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). Members of LES are professionally involved in the acquisition, organization, and use of information sources related to the study and teaching of literatures written in English. For more information, to join our list, or to complete a committee interest form, visit our web site at http://www.ala.org/acrl/les.

You are welcome to join us at any of our meetings or discussion groups during the Conference. Note: HCB stands for Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center.

Saturday, January 21

8:00 - 10:00

Executive Committee I

Meeting of the Section officers and committee chairs to discuss the Section's structure and operations.

HCB 210B

10:30 – 12:30

MLA International Bibliography Discussion Group

While not a discussion group of LES, many LES members attend. The MLAIB in Academic Libraries Discussion Group serves to share information and further communication regarding the use of the MLAIB in academic libraries.

HCB 215

1:30 – 3:30

General Membership Forum

First hour is allocated to a round robin of members’ concerns. The second hour will be devoted to a discussion of BLOGS for literature librarians. The discussion will be lead by Dan Coffey, Iowa State University and Jen Stevens, George Mason University.

HCB 217D

4:00 - 5:30

New Members Discussion Group

Designed to offer a forum for discussion among people new to literature librarianship, with more seasoned colleagues on hand to lend support and advice.

HCB 201

5:30 - ?

LES Social Hour

Members and potential members are encouraged to attend this informal, no-host opportunity to socialize with literary-minded librarians and to continue discussions started earlier.

Location TBA

Sunday, January 22

8:00 – 10:00

Reference Discussion Group

Information sharing session for librarians with interests in reference services and materials related to studying literatures in English.

HCB 101A

10:30 – 12:30

Collections Discussion Group

An open forum for presentation and discussion of any topic or issue that involves the management, preservation, or use of materials in English-language literatures.

HCB 101B

4:00 – 6:00

All LES Committees Meeting

All LES committees (Conference Program Planning, Membership, Nominating, Planning, and Publications) meet during this time. Nominating Committee deliberations are confidential, but anyone interested in learning more about the work of any of the other committees, or who is thinking about volunteering for a LES committee, is encouraged to stop by. You do not need to be a current committee member to attend.

HCB 201

Monday, January 23

8:00 – 10:00

Executive Committee II

Meeting of the Section officers and committee chairs to discuss the Section's structure and operations.

HCB 212B

Current Officers, Committee Chairs, and Discussion Group Chairs

§ Susanna Van Sant, University of Maryland, Chair, svansant@umd.edu

§ Kathy Johnson, Univ of Nebraska at Lincoln, Vice-Chair/Chair Elect, kjohnson6@unl.edu

§ Jennifer Stevens, George Mason University, Past Chair, jsteven7@gmu.edu

§ Kathleen Kluegel, Secretary, Univ. of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign, kkluegel@uiuc.edu

§ Sophie Lesinska, Member at Large, University of Southern California, lesinska@usc.edu

§ Rob Melton, 2006 Conference Program Planning Committee, rmelton@library.ucsd.edu

§ Madeline A. Copp, Membership Committee, mcopp@jhu.edu

§ Kathleen Kluegel, Planning Committee, kkluegel@uiuc.edu

§ Dan Coffey, Publications Committee, dcoffey@iastate.edu

§ Michaelyn Burnette, Nominating Committee, mburnett@library.berkeley.edu

§ Collections Discussion Group, Steven R. Harris, SteHar@ngw.lib.usu.edu

§ Literary Reference Discussion Group, Angela Courtney (ancourtn@indiana.edu) and Rob Melton (rmelton@library.ucsd.edu)

§ New Members Discussion Group, Karen Munro (kmunro@library.berkeley.edu) and Juliet Kerico (jkerico@indstate.edu).

Back to the LES homepage

Comments may be directed to the Web Editor. Special thanks to ALA and ACRL for hosting this site.

This site was established 24 March, 1996, at the University of Connecticut and moved to its current location at ALA on November 30, 2000.
Most recent update: May 5, 2004.