ACRL/IS Awards Home Page

Instruction Section banner

ACRL/IS Awards Committee

Committee Information

To recognize outstanding scholarship, instructional programming, and leadership among our colleagues by choosing the recipients of the Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award, the Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award, and the Instruction Section Innovation Award. The committee will proactively research possible nominees for these awards and solicit nominations widely from membership, and convey their decisions to the Executive Committee. The committee will periodically review the selection criteria for honorees; coordinate publicity related to individual awards and award recipients according to ALA/ACRL award procedures; update information about award winners on the Section web site; and update the internal documents that guide the committee. The Committee also coordinates the awards ceremony and honoree IS dinner attendance, plaques and certificates. The committee will also regularly evaluate the need for new awards and investigate ongoing funding sources.
Annual Planning:
View planning documents such as annual goals, measuring success reports, or annual reports by selecting the appropriate report from the Planning Documents Archive page. 
Committees generally meet twice at the Midwinter Meeting and once at the Annual Conference. Midwinter meetings are closed; Annual meetings may be open to visitors. Check the full schedule of IS meetings which is posted about one month before each conference.

Conference Minutes:
View minutes from committee meetings on ALA Connect.

Committee Members & Contact Information (member login)



Questions and comments may be sent to Susanna Maria Eng-Ziskin,, 2013-2014 Chair.

Instruction Section Home Page

Send us your comments and questions