Instruction Section


Enhances the ability of academic and research librarians to advance learning, teaching, and research with respect to information literacy in higher education.
The official IS committee rosters are listed below, and the IS website is available here.


Meghan Elizabeth Sitar (Chair, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Merinda Kaye Hensley (Past-Chairperson, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)
Anne Charlotte Behler (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Carrie Forbes (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2019)
Andrea Baer (Archivist, July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2018. Last retrieved on 03/18/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


As of August 2017, IS had 3,895 members. The committee composition is determined by section leadership. 


The Instruction Section was established in 1977.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

Staff Liaison

Megan Griffin
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Work: 312-280-2514