Future Librarian Mentorship Program Scholarship

Recipient Spotlight - Aaisha N. Haykal

EBSS Future Librarian Scholarship Winner


The EBSS Ad Hoc Mentorship Committee is pleased to announce that Aaisha N. Haykal has been awarded the EBSS Future Librarian Mentorship Program Scholarship.  This scholarship will support Aaisha's attendance at the ALA Conference in Anaheim this summer as well as provide a one year membership in the American Library Association and a $2000 scholarship to an ALA Accredited master's degree program.  Kay A. Buchanan, Acting Head of Education Library at the Un iversity of Virginia, will serve as Aaisha's mentor for this program.  The scholarship will be formally presented to Aaisha at the EBSS Social. 


Aaisha Haykal is a junior, English and Textual Studies and African-American Studies major in the College of Arts and Sciences at SyracuseUniversity. She was raised in West Valley, NY with her parents and sister. During her undergraduate career, she was the News Editor for the student-run newspaper The Black Voice, the secretary for the National Honor Society Phi Eta Sigma, a member of the Golden Key Honor Society, and the Syracuse University Bowling Club. Besides her extracurricular activities, she has worked at the Syracuse University Library Bird and the Martin Luther King Jr. Library branches. These jobs have allowed her to explore her love of books and to help others with their research. She has been on the Dean’s List for five consecutive semesters and was awarded the Dean’s Scholarship and Kathleen E. Pavelka Endowed Scholarship at SyracuseUniversity. She interned at the Library of Congress and helped the African and Middle Eastern Division to compile a guide to the African Regional, National and International Organizations. Since 2007, she has participated in the Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Program and worked with Dr. Jeffery M. Stanton and the research team at the iSchool at SyracuseUniversity on a National Science Foundation Grant. She helped in researching the reasons why women and minorities are not pursuing careers in science and technology fields. She looks forward to continuing her academic career in the field of library science by participating in a Master of Science in Library and Information Science degree program at an accredited American Library Association program.       


The EBSS Future Librarian Mentorship Program is sponsored by the Education and Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL).

The EBSS Future Librarian Mentorship Program scholarship is funded by an ACRL Action Plan submitted by Doug Cook, past EBSS chair. Members of the Ad Hoc Mentorship Committee are Paulita Aguilar, Adis Beesting, Kay Buchanan, Jo Ann Carr, Chair; Collette D. Childers; Suzette H. Hollins, Lee LaFleur, Venta Silins, Allison Sutton, and Signia R. Warner.