Message from Jill Morningstar, EBSS Chair for 2018-2019

Hello and welcome to EBSS!


I’m fortunate to be your chair for the upcoming 2018-2019 year. I hope to follow in the footsteps of my outstanding predecessors, and I look forward to working with many of you in this wonderful community.


This past year, EBSS celebrated its 50th anniversary, culminating in a well-attended gathering that took place at ALA Annual in New Orleans in June. Many thanks to the 50th Anniversary Planning Committee: Joyce Garczynski, Melissa Beuoy, Nancy O’Brien, Raquel Horlick, Connie Phelps, Ericka Raber, and of course, Scott Collard, who was also the recipient of our EBSS Distinguished Librarian Award. Congratulations to Scott on his well-deserved recognition!


EBSS has always been welcoming group to me. As soon as I started my role as Education and Psychology Librarian at Michigan State University, I jumped into committee work by serving on the Research Committee for EBSS, before eventually co-chairing the committee the following year. I was then elected Member-at-Large where I served in that role for two years before getting elected as Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect in 2017. It has allowed me the opportunity to network with other librarians and faculty in my fields, and I hope it serves the same purpose for you all as well. Through our robust email listserv, our growing list of active committees, and our camaraderie at events at Annual, EBSS is truly a supportive, collegial network that I’m honored to be a part of.


I had the opportunity this past winter as Vice-Chair to reach out and connect with all of our chairs and co-chairs from our 17 committees, and it was truly a pleasure to get to know all of you better. The Executive Committee is here to provide support to our committees, their chairs/co-chairs, and to all members who make up this wonderful organization. Please do not hesitate to reach out to any of us for guidance or assistance. You all are what makes the organization’s heart beat every day, you keep its pulse moving, and I’m thrilled to be your chair for the next year. Let’s have a wonderful 51st year, EBSS!


Jill Morningstar, Chair 2018-2019


Previous Chairs' Messages: