Educational & Behavioral Sciences Section


Serves the common interests of education and behavioral sciences librarians, including communications studies, psychology, and social work librarians. Members explore a host of issues in the areas of information literacy, effective use of technology in the classroom, collection development, scholarly communication, research, and other concerns pertaining to education and behavioral sciences librarianship.


Kaya Van Beynen (Chair, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017)
Bernadette A. Lear (Past-Chairperson, July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017)
Ericka Arvidson Raber (Secretary, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Ms. Jill Erin Morningstar (Member-at-Large, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Dr. Emily Swensen Darowski (Ex-Officio Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)
Ms. Christina Mullins (Ex-Officio Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2017)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2016. Last retrieved on 02/05/2016. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


As of August 2015, EBSS had 866 members. The committee composition is determined by section leadership. 


The Education and Behavioral Sciences Section was established in 1968.

Get Involved

Volunteer applications for ACRL appointments are accepted through February 15 for service the following term, which begins July 1. Visit for more information and a link to the volunteer form.

Staff Liaison

Megan Griffin
Program Officer
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611-2788

Work: 312-280-2514