Vice President's Page

Jon E. Cawthorne
ACRL Vice-President

Latest News


Speaking engagement topics:

  • Organizational Development and Leadership
  • Equity, Diversity and Inclusion; ACRL Diversity Alliance
  • Future of College and Academic Libraries

Award Presentations

  • Postponed: April 2, 2020: Excellence in Academic Libraries Award, Santa Rosa Junior College
  • Postponed: April 10, 2020: Excellence in Academic Libraries Award, University of Maryland

Press Box

Coming soon!

Biographical Information

Jon E. Cawthorne is dean of Wayne State University Library System and the School of Information Sciences, a position he has held since 2017. Prior to this, Cawthorne served as dean of libraries at West Virginia University (2014-2017), as associate dean of public services and assessment at Florida State University (2012-2014), and as associate university librarian for Public Services at Boston College (2011-2012).

During his 24 years of ACRL membership, he has served as a chair of the ACRL Diversity Alliance Steering Committee (2016-Present), and as a member of the ACRL President’s Program Committee (2015-2017). Previously, he was a member of the ACRL New Publications Advisory Board (2015), the ACRL Friends’ Fundraising Committee (2007-2010), the ACRL Publications Coordinating Committee (2006-2008), the ACRL Poster Sessions Committee (2003-2005), and the ACRL President’s Program Planning Committee (2002-2004). Additionally, Cawthorne’s work within ALA includes being a mentor for the LLAMA Mentoring Program (2018), a member of both the ALA Nominating Committee (2006-2008) and the Office of Diversity Director Search Committee (2007) and he served as chair of the ALA Spectrum Advisory Committee (2006-2007) and the ALA Lippincott Award Committee (2006-2007). He was a member of the Spectrum Initiative Institute (2004-2008 and 1999-2000), served as a member of the ALA Awards Committee (2003-2006), and the Peggy Sullivan Awards Committee (2004-2005).  He served on the ALA Publishing Committee (2000-2002), the 5th National Conference Site Selection Committee (1999-2001), as a member of the ALA/PLA New Leaders Travel Grant Committee (2001), and the Dr. John C. Tyson Scholarship Committee (1996-1999). Cawthorne developed and co-managed the BCALA home page from (1995-1999), served as chair of the 4th National Conference New Member Orientation (1998), and sat on the BCALA Executive Board (1995-1997).

Cawthorne’s publications include: "On Becoming: The ten thousand hours towards positive leadership", in Crucible Moments: Inspiring Library Leadership, Edited by Steven Bell, Mission Bell Media: Santa Barbara, CA, 2015; "Scenario planning to create future scenarios: A Guidebook for Librarians” co-authored by Joan Giesecke,  American Library Association: Chicago, 2015; and "Leading from the Middle: An Examination of Shared Leadership in Academic Libraries", for  Journal of Academic Librarianship, (Volume 36, Issue 2, March 2010).

Cawthorne holds a M.L.S. degree from the University of Maryland, and a Ph.D. in managerial leadership in the information professions from Simmons College.