Standards Committee


Responsible for overseeing the development of standards and guidelines adopted and promoted by the Association.


J. B. Hill (Chair, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2014)
Susanna D. Boylston (Vice-Chair, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2014)
Mrs. Stephanie Atkins Sharpe (Member, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2015)
Susanna D. Boylston (Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Dr. Tony Garrett (Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Ms. Leslie M. Haas (Member, July 1, 2012, to September 15, 2013)
Sara Metz (Member, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2015)
Robin D. Ottoson (Member, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2015)
Marla E. Peppers (Member, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2015)
Mr. Trevor A. Dawes (Board Liaison, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2014)
David Free (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2014)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2013. Last retrieved on 06/19/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.

Specific Tasks

  • Monitors existing ACRL standards and guidelines and recommends revision or recession when appropriate to the ACRL Board.
  • Recommends new standards or guidelines as needed.
  • Assist units of ACRL in developing standards and guidelines.
  • Maintains a manual of policies and procedures related to the development of standards within ACRL.
  • Recommends to the ACRL Board the acceptability of proposed standards, guidelines, and related documents.
  • Guides and monitors the solicitation of member comment on ACRL standards and guidelines through email distribution lists (listservs) before they are recommended to the ACRL Board.
  • Holds or delegates the holding of open hearings on ACRL standards when this option for gathering member comments is employed.
  • Recommends to the ACRL Board the acceptability of proposed translations of standards, guidelines, and related documents into languages other than English. 


  • A minimum of five members (i.e. a chair, vice-chair, and three members)
  • Additional appointments at the discretion of the Vice-President/President-Elect and Appointments Committee.
  • The chair of the Information Literacy Frameworks and Standards Committee (ILFSC) is a voting ex-officio member.


In 2005, the Standards and Accreditation Committee was included as a component committee of the Advocacy Coordinating Committee. In 2009, it was redefined as a stand alone divisional committee when the coordinating committee was reclassified as a standard committee, with no coordinating committee umbrella structure.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

Staff Liaison

David Free
Editor-in-Chief of College and Research Libraries News/Marketing and Communications
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL  60611-2788
Work: 312-280-2517