Diversity Committee


To initiate, advise and mobilize support for appropriate action related to issues of diversity in academic librarianship including recruitment, advancement and retention of underrepresented groups to academic and research librarianship and the promotion of library and information services for diverse library users.


Charlene Maxey-Harris (Chair, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Rayette Sterling (Vice-Chair, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Toni Anaya (Member, July 1, 2010, to June 30, 2012)
Latrice Booker (Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Scott B. Mandernack (Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Mary Ann Sheble (Board Liaison, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)
Ann-Christe Galloway (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2011. Last retrieved on 04/27/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


  • A minimum of five members (i.e. a chair, vice-chair, and three members)
  • Additional appointments at the discretion of the Vice-President/President-Elect and Appointments Committee


The Diversity Committee (original committee name: Racial and Ethnic Diversity Committee) was created by the ACRL Board of Directors at its 1990 Fall Executive Committee Meeting.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.

Staff Liaison

Ann-Christe Galloway
Production Editor
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL  60611
Work: 312-280-2524
E-mail: agalloway@ala.org