ACRL Professional Development Committee


To advise ACRL staff on matters related to professional development needs assessment, program development and evaluation, and elearning. Responsible for selecting and allocating funding to annual conference programs, selecting Midwinter workshops and institutes and Annual Conference preconferences, and awarding scholarships.


Jim Elmborg (Chair, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Ms. Ruth A. Vondracek (Vice-Chair, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Dr. Lynn Norris Baird (Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Zach Coble (Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Ms. Elizabeth Marie German (Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Jean Zanoni (Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Mr. Trevor A. Dawes (Board Liaison, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Margot Conahan (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Megan R. Griffin (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2012. Last retrieved on 05/25/2018. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


  • A minimum of five members (i.e. a chair, vice-chair, and three members). Suggested 10-12 members (including chair, vice-chair).
  • Past-Chair serves as ex-officio representative to ALA Conference Program Coordinating Team and the ALA Library Education Assembly.
  • Additional appointments at the discretion of the Vice-President/President-Elect and Appointments Committee


At the ALA Annual Conference in 2005, the Professional Development Committee was transitioned into the Professional Development Coordinating Committee, an umbrella committee charged with coordinating the efforts of ACRL's professional development activities. In 2009, the committee charge was revised and new component committees established, including the Annual Conference Programs Committee, Midwinter Workshops and Annual Preconferences Committee, Scholarships Committee, and Virtual Institutes Committee. The Board also ended the Effective Practices Review Committee.  As of June 30, 2012, the Board dissolved the component committee umbrella structure and changed the name to the Professional Development Committee.

Get Involved

Volunteers will need to complete the volunteer form by February 15 for committee service that begins July 1. More information, including volunteer requirements, can be found on the ACRL volunteer site.


Staff Liaison

Margot Sutton Conahan
Manager of Professional Development
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL  60611-2788
Work: 312-280-2522