Ethics Committee


To increase awareness of professional ethics in academic librarianship; to enhance awareness of the ethical context of service in an academic library; to educate academic librarians on how to address ethical issues effectively; to articulate core ethical principles that define the interpretation of ethical issues in the workplace; to promote awareness of academic librarianship ethics on the part of the communities served; through its work, to improve the quality of academic library service and of the atmosphere in which it takes place.


Jean S. Caspers (Chair, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Elaine L. Westbrooks (Chair, July 1, 2012, to July 17, 2012)
Ms. Kelly Laas (Vice-Chair, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Jonathan Thomas Cope (Member, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014)
Lori J. Phillips (Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Ann MacKay Snowman (Member, July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013)
Mrs. Loretta R. Parham (Board Liaison, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Kathryn Deiss (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)
Megan R. Griffin (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2013)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2012. Last retrieved on 11/01/2014. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


• Minimum of five members (i.e. a chair, vice-chair, and three members).
• Chair serves as ex-officio member on the ALA Professional Ethics Committee
• Additional appointments at the discretion of the Vice-President/President-Elect and Appointments Committee


The Ethics Committee was created by the ACRL Board of Directors.

Get Involved

Volunteer applications for ACRL division-level committees are accepted through February 15 for service the following committee term, which begins July 1. Visit for more information and a link to the volunteer form.

Staff Liaison

Kathryn Deiss
Content Specialist
Association of College & Research Libraries
American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL  60611-2788
Work: 312-280-2529