Search

Search results

  1. American Library Association announces 2014 youth media award winners

    Macey Morales ALA Media Relations mmorales@ala.org PHILADELPHIA — The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz a ...

    JCARMICHAEL - 01/29/2014 - 13:34 - News & Press Center

  2. ALA announces Libraries Transforming Communities Public Innovator Cohort grant opportunity

    Mary Davis Fournier Deputy Director mfournier@ala.org Public libraries invited to apply by March 6 to receive $8,000 grant and 18 months of professional development in community engagement CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Public Programs O ...

    brussell3 - 01/22/2014 - 09:08 - News & Press Center

  3. ALA brings library lens to network neutrality debate in FCC public comments

    Larra Clark Director, Program on Networks lclark@alawash.org WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today the American Library Association (ALA) urged the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to adopt the legally enforceable network neutrality rules necessary to fulfill l ...

    JCARMICHAEL - 07/18/2014 - 11:52 - News & Press Center

  4. Winners of the first annual Will Eisner Graphic Novel Grants for Libraries announced

    Tina Coleman Staff Liaison ccoleman@ala.org CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) and the Will and Ann Eisner Family Foundation announced the two winners of the first Will Eisner Graphic Novel Grants for Libraries Saturday on-site at the ALA 20 ...

    JCARMICHAEL - 06/29/2014 - 12:25 - News & Press Center

  5. YALSA announces Teen Blogging Contest for Teen Read Week™

    Jaclyn Finneke Communications Manager jfinneke@ala.org CHICAGO — The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), announced its Teen Read Week Teen Blogging contest in conjunction with YALSA’s blo ...

    JFINNEKE - 05/23/2014 - 11:22 - News & Press Center

  6. Free webinar introduces LLAMA’s New Professionals Section

    Fred Reuland Program Officer freuland@ala.org CHICAGO — Are you are a new or aspiring library professional facing the challenges of finishing school, looking for a job, or working hard to succeed in your first position?  LLAMA’s New Professionals Section ...

    FREULAND - 05/23/2014 - 10:19 - News & Press Center

  7. Customer-based collection development

    Rob Christopher Marketing Coordinator rchristopher@ala.org CHICAGO — The traditional “top down” approach to collection development definitely has its drawbacks: even after spending a good deal of time, energy and resources, librarians are sometimes frustr ...

    RCHRISTOPHER - 07/22/2014 - 16:41 - News & Press Center

  8. ALA, Harwood Institute announce ‘Public Innovators Lab for Libraries’ community engagement training opportunity

    Sarah Ostman Communications Manager sostman@ala.org CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) and The Harwood Institute for Public Innovation have announced an intensive three-day training opportunity to help libraries strengthen their role as agen ...

    SOSTMAN - 07/22/2014 - 16:28 - News & Press Center

  9. Ames Public Library awarded 2014 Baker & Taylor Summer Reading Program Grant

    Courtney Jones Awards Coordinator alscawards@ala.org CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded the 2014 ALSC/Baker & Taylor Summer Reading Program Grant to the Ames (Iowa) Public Library. This grant is designed to en ...

    CJONES - 07/22/2014 - 16:25 - News & Press Center

  10. Popular technology trainer course with PLA returns this September

    Amy Sargent Marketing and Communications Manager asargent@ala.org CHICAGO — The popular, interactive online course, “The Accidental Public Library Technology Trainer,” is coming live to a computer near you Sept. 8–Oct. 3, 2014. This four-week blended-lear ...

    ASARGENT - 07/22/2014 - 13:11 - News & Press Center

Pages