Washington Office

Logo for the District Dispatch - District in blue stacked on top of Dispatch in yellow. The ALA logo is at the bottom.

Read the latest library policy news on the District Dispatch, written by the American Library Association's Washington Office staff.

Copyright is at the core of almost everything that libraries and librarians do. Library workers purchase over $4 billion in copyrighted materials...

Cartoon drawing of a laptop displaying the world and the wifi symbol.

ALA is dedicated to preserving an open internet and network neutrality, modernizing the FCC's Lifeline program, and ensuring that all libraries...

No-fee public access to government information is the foundation of an informed citizenry.

Cartoon drawing of a blue eye peeping through a keyhole.

ALA works alongside bipartisan coalitions of public interest groups, think tanks, and private sector companies to uphold the Constitutional...

Cartoon drawing of three stacks of gold coins with a black frame.

The Washington Office works to increase or maintain current levels of federal funding for a wide range of vital programs and services provided to...

Mission

The American Library Association's Washington Office was established in 1945 to represent libraries on Capitol Hill.

The Washington Office is charged with following and influencing legislation, policy and regulatory issues of importance to the library field and its public. The Washington Office works to ensure that libraries are consistently involved in the legislative and policy decision-making processes by:

  • Informing government of the needs and concerns of the library community;
  • Providing library supporters with up-to-date information on government actions or proposals;
  • Building coalitions with Washington-based representatives of other groups with similar concerns; and
  • Developing grassroots networks to lobby legislators and further library interests.

With guidance and input from the ALA Committee on Legislation, the Washington Office covers a broad range of issues including, but not limited to: appropriations, copyright, library programs, government information, privacy, and telecommunications. The Washington Office also works to advance ALA's public policy activities by helping secure information technology policies that support and encourage efforts of libraries to ensure access to electronic information resources as a means of upholding the public’s right to a free and open information society. It works to ensure a library voice in information policy debates and to promote full and equitable intellectual participation by the public.

Finally, the Washington Office also builds coalitions and partnerships with Washington-based representatives of other groups with interests similar to the library community.

Staff

Gavin Baker

Gavin Baker, MSLIS
Assistant Director,
Government Relations
gbaker@alawash.org
Rosalind Bradley

Rosalind Bradley
Assistant Director,
Administration
rbradley@alawash.org
Larra Clark

Larra Clark, MSLIS
Deputy Director,
Public Policy/PLA
lclark@ala.org
Alisha Dixon

Alisha Dixon
Administrative Assistant,
Washington Office
adixon@alawash.org
Shawnda Hines

Shawnda Hines
Assitant Director,
Communications
shines@alawash.org
Alan Inouye

Alan Inouye, Ph.D.
Director,
Public Policy
ainouye@alawash.org
Kathi Kromer

Kathi Kromer, MA
Associate Executive Director,
Washington Office
kkromer@alawash.org
Lisa Lindle

Lisa Lindle
Manager,
Grassroots/Advocacy Outreach
llindle@alawash.org
Kevin Maher

Kevin Maher
Deputy Director
Government Relations
kmaher@alawash.org
Pat May

Pat May, MA
Director,
Administration
pmay@alawash.org
Daniel Snedden

Megan Ortegon
Manager,
Public Policy
mortegon@alawash.org
Carrie Russell

Carrie Russell, MSLIS
Director,
Public Policy
crussell@alawash.org
Daniel Snedden

Daniel Snedden
Manager,
Public Policy
dsnedden@alawash.org
Marijke Visser

Marijke Visser, MSLIS
Associate Director and
Senior Policy Advocate
mvisser@alawash.org
Emily Wagner

Emily Wagner, MSLIS
Assistant Director,
Knowledge Mmgt/Comms
ewagner@alawash.org

Contact Information
1615 New Hampshire Ave., NW, 1st Floor
Washington DC 20009-2520
Phone: 202-628-8410
Toll-Free Number: 1-800-941-8478