ALA Publishing

ALA Publishing logo

Mission

The ultimate resources for a dynamic profession

The Publishing Department of the American Library Association provides all library employees a comprehensive, one-stop resource for print and digital materials dedicated to professional development, improving library services, and the promotion of libraries, literacy, and reading. All Net Revenues from subscriptions and product purchases are invested in the financial support of ALA’s goals and initiatives.

Imprints, Initiatives & Projects

ALA Editions

ALA Editions and ALA Neal-Schuman publishes resources used worldwide by tens of thousands of library and information professionals to improve programs, build on best practices, develop leadership, and for personal professional development. 

ALA Graphics

ALA Graphics creates unique posters, bookmarks, gifts, and incentives that promote libraries, literacy, and reading, as well as promotional materials for ALA events such as National Library Week, Library Card Sign-up Month, Banned Books, Week, and Teen Read Week.

Booklist Publications

Booklist is the book review magazine of the American Library Association, considered an essential collection development and readers’-advisory tool by thousands of librarians since 1903. Subscriptions to Booklist include full access to Booklist Online, which includes digital editions of Booklist, a growing archive of 180,000+ reviews from the past 25 years, as well as a wealth of free features, webinars, and the latest news and views on books and media. Booklist subscribers also receive Book Links, a quarterly supplement helping connect books to libraries, and K-8 classrooms. 

American Libraries

American Libraries, the magazine of the American Library Association, offers a suite of print and electronic publications, appearing 6 times per year in print as well as the twice-weekly e-newsletter AL Direct.; a monthly podcast, Dewey Decibel; the streaming webinar AL Live; and daily updates n AmericanLibraries.org and social media platforms.  For more than 100 years, American Libraries has kept readers informed in print and (increasingly) online, keeping library and information science and technology workers in touch with the profession’s most current concerns.

ALA Digital Reference

ALA Digital Reference serves the international cataloging community’s desire for a 21st - century standard that facilitates and advances the creation and exchange of bibliographic data - RDA: Resource Description and Access. ALA Digital Reference provides access to the standard through a range of digital and print products tailored to the needs of catalogers, cataloging learners, managers, metadata specialists, archivists, developers, and publishers. The RDA Toolkit is the source for RDA: Resource Description and Access and related resources and is an integrated, browser-based, online product that allows users to interact with a collection of cataloguing-related documents and resources. RDA Toolkit is published by the RDA Co-Publishers: the American Library Association, the Canadian Federation of Library Associations, and Facet Publishing, the publishing arm of CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals.

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions (ELS) produces high-quality professional development events and materials for the library profession. ELS events cover a wide variety of topics in formats that include live workshops, asynchronous eCourses, and more. ELS includes the ALA TechSource imprint, which publishes Library Technology Reports and Smart Libraries Newsletter, helping information professionals make informed technology decisions. ELS helps ensure that library employees have access to the professional development opportunities they need, whether they are brushing up on the basics or expanding their horizons with cutting-edge tools. 

 

eLearning Opportunities from ALA Publishing

Oversight Groups

Staff

Mary Mackay, Associate Executive Director mmackay@ala.org
Mary Jo Bolduc, Program Officer-Seals/Copyright & Permissions mbolduc@ala.org
Christopher Murphy, Publisher, ALA Editions cmurphy@ala.org
Bill Ott, Editor & Publisher, Booklist Publications bott@ala.org
Laurie Borman, Publisher, American Libraries  lborman@ala.org
James Hennelly, Director, Digital Reference jhennelly@ala.org
Dan Freeman, Director, ALA Publishing eLearning dfreeman@ala.org
Rachel Johnson, Director, ALA Graphics rjohnson@ala.org
Chris Keech, Director, Production Services ckeech@ala.org