List of International Information Organizations

International Federation of Library Associations

International Council on Archives

International Labor Organization

International Standards Organization


World Health Organization

World Intellectual Property Organization

   International Federation of Library Information Organizations (IFLA)

Located in The Hague, The Netherlands, IFLA was founded in Edinburgh on 30 September 1927 during the International Congress of Libraries (the 50th Anniversary Conference of the British Library Association).  The International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) was established as a small association of mainly national library associations and academic libraries. The Federation was one of the first international non-profit, non-governmental organizations aiming to further the cause of librarianship. Its primary function was to provide librarians throughout the world with a general forum for international contacts and exchange of ideas and experiences, principally in the field of bibliography.

IFLA's purpose is to promote international understanding, cooperation, discussion, research and development in all fields of library activity, including bibliography, information services and the education of personnel, and provide a body through which librarianship can be represented in matters of international interest.

IFLA Conferences are scheduled for the following locations:

   International Council on Archives (ICA)   (located in Paris, France)

The International Council on Archives is a non-governmental organization, acting internationally, which is concerned with archives and their role in: 

  • the conduct of public and private activities
  • the protection of individual rights
  • the advancement of human knowledge and culture 

Founded in 1948, at a meeting convened by UNESCO, ICA was formally established at its first international congress held in Paris two years later.

 ICA is a non-governmental organization admitted in the category of consultative and associate relations with UNESCO. It cooperates with other international organizations in implementing projects of common interest. ICA's fundamental aim is to promote the preservation, development and use ofthe world's archival heritage.
ICA brings together archivists across the world to share information, to strengthen the development of the archival profession, and to raise awareness and appreciation of the importance of archives. ICA has some 1350 members in over 150 countries, in the following 5 categories: 

  • National archival institutions 
  • Professional associations 
  • Regional and local archival institutions, both public and private individual members 
  • Honorary members 

International Labour Organization (ILO)

The International Labour Organization is the UN specialized agency which seeks the promotion of social justice and internationally recognized human and labour rights. It was founded in 1919 and is the only surviving major creation of the Treaty of Versailles which brought the League of Nations into being and it became the first specialized agency of the UN in 1946.

The ILO formulates international labour standards in the form of Conventions and Recommendations setting minimum standards of basic labour rights: freedom of association, the right to organize, collective bargaining, abolition of forced labour, equality of opportunity and treatment, and other standards regulating conditions across the entire spectrum of work related issues. It provides technical assistance primarily in the fields of vocational training and vocational rehabilitation; employment policy; labour administration; labour law and industrial relations; working conditions; management development; cooperatives; social security; labour statistics and occupational safety and health. It promotes the development of independent employers' and workers' organizations and provides training and advisory services to those organizations. Within the UN system, the ILO has a unique tripartite structure with workers and employers participating as equal partners with governments in the work of its governing organs.

   International Standards Organization (located in Geneva, Switzerland)

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is a worldwide federation of national standards bodies from some 100 countries, one from each country.

ISO is a non-governmental organization established in 1947. The mission of ISO is to promote the development of standardization and related activities in the world with a view to facilitating the international exchange of goods and services, and to developing cooperation in the spheres of
intellectual, scientific, technological and economic activity.

ISO's work results in international agreements which are published as International Standards.

The US member of ISO is:

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
11 West 42nd Street, 13th floor
New York, N.Y. 10036
Telephone:+ 1 212 642 49 00;
Telefax:+ 1 212 398 00 23;  WWW:


   World Health Organization (WHO)

Founded in 1948, the World Health Organization leads the world alliance for Health for All. A specialized agency of the United Nations with 191 Member States, WHO promotes technical cooperation for health among nations, carries out programmes to control and eradicate disease and strives to improve the quality of human life.

WHO has four main functions:

to give worldwide guidance in the field of health

to set global standards for health

to cooperate with governments in strengthening national health programmes

to develop and transfer appropriate health technology, information

   World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is an intergovernmental organization with headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland.  It is one of the 16 specialized agencies of the United Nations system of organizations.   WIPO is responsible for the promotion of the protection of intellectual property throughout the world through cooperation among States, and for the administration of various multilateral treaties dealing with the legal and administrative aspects of intellectual property.

Intellectual property comprises two main branches:

  • industrial property, chiefly in inventions, trademarks, industrial designs, and appellations of origin; and 
  • copyright, chiefly in literary, musical, artistic, photographic and audiovisual works.