Information Technology & Telecommunication Services

ITTS Tech Help Logo

50 E. Huron
Chicago, IL 60611
Toll free 800-545-2433
Direct line 312-944-6780
Fax 312-440-9374

Mission

The ITTS Department supports the technology services of ALA to its staff and membership by investigating new technology, providing training and support materials, and implementing hardware and software platforms that support ALA's Action and strategic direction goals.

Responsibilities

ITTS offers advice, support, and maintenance in the areas of:

  • Web Services

  • Network Services

  • Telecommunication Services

  • Project Management

  • Database Administration

  • Technical Training

Initiatives & Projects

Updates on our current projects and initiatives can be found on the ITTS blog at http://itts.ala.org/news.

Popular Resources

Member Volunteer Resources

ALA is fortunate to have many member volunteers who add content to our website at www.ala.org. The Content Management System for our website is Drupal 7. Online Learning is available to train our member volunteer content managers in Drupal in our Drupal Sandbox- http://www.ala.org/support/Drupal

Live training is available as a follow-up to the resources on our support site.  Please contact Julianna Kloeppel at 800-545-2433 x2461 to find out about the next remote training session.

Staff

Director, Information Technology & Telecommunication Services (ITTS)
Sherri Vanyek - svanyek@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 2437
Responsible for the overall direction of ITTS.

Assistant Director 
Tim Smith - tsmith@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 5109
Areas of Responsibility: IT Planning, software applications, infrastructure, database support, and support to the Director

Community Engagement Specialist
Pamela Akins - pakins@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 4210
Areas of Responsibility: ALA Connect, implementation and integration of social networking systems, user interface issues

Internet Administrator 
Rob Berquist - rberquist@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 5833
Areas of Responsibility: Infrastructure support for ALA websites, Blogs, Sympa, and Wikis

Web Design Specialist
Sean Bires - sbires@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 5288
Areas of Responsibility: Drupal help desk, maintenance, eLearning materials

Technical Service Specialist 
Maribeth Chapman - mchapman@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 2460
Areas of Responsibility: Hardware/software purchases, ALA mailing lists, Telephone changes, Outlook mail accounts

Senior Usability Officer
Louise Gruenberg - lgruenberg@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 1395
Areas of Responsibility: Website usability and accessibility, CMS migration, stakeholder groups, Google Analytics

Systems Integration Specialist
Stan Kessler- skessler@ala.org  
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 2462
Areas of Responsibility: Systems Integration, iMIS Membership Database Reporting

eLearning Specialist 
Julianna Kloeppel- jkloeppel@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 2461
Areas of Responsibility: Conducts internal and external training and creates eLearning materials to support same, Moodle administration

eStore Project Manager 
Steven Pate spate@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 2465
Areas of Responsibility: eStore/eLearning ecommerce sites

Database Administrator  
Mitch Stein - mstein@ala.org
(800) 545-2433, Ext. 5835
Areas of Responsibility: Database servers

Business Intelligence Analyst/Project Manager  
Brian Willard – bwillard@ala.org
(800) 545-4394, Ext. 4394
Areas of Responsibility: Data Analytics and some Project Management

Training & Staff Resources

Training and Staff Resources are now located at www.ala.org/support.