Officers & Executive Board

Executive Board

The ALA Executive Board consists of the president, president-elect, immediate past president, treasurer, executive director, and eight members elected by Council from its membership for three-year terms. The members of the Executive Board are members of Council as provided by the

(See Constitution, Article VII, Section 1; Article VIII, Section1; Bylaw Article III, Section 6(c); Bylaw Article IV, Section 2(e).)


The Executive Director is without vote, and the presiding officers of the Council may vote only in the case of a tie. The Executive Board acts for Council in the administration of established policies and programs and is the body that manages within this context the affairs of the Association, delegating management of day-to-day operation to the Association’s executive director.

The Executive Board makes recommendations with respect to policy and operation.

(See Constitution, Article VII, Section 3.)

To contact a member of the Executive Board, use this form.

Current Executive Board & Officers:

ALA Executive Officers

Julius C. Jefferson, Jr.


Julius C. Jefferson, Jr. (2020-2021)

Private Citizen 

Washington D.C.


Patricia 'Patty' M. Wong


Patrica "Patty" M. Wong (2020-2021)

Santa Monica Public Library
Santa Monica, CA 90401


Wanda Kay Brown

Immediate Past President

Wanda Kay Brown (2020-2021)

Winston-Salem State University
Winston-Salem, NC 27110


Maggie Farrell


Maggie Farrell (2019-2022)

University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV 89001

Tracie D. Hall

Executive Director

Tracie D. Hall

ALA Headquarters
225 N. Michigan Ave, Suite 1300
Chicago, IL 60601

Office: 312-280-1392

ALA Executive Board Members

Term 2020–2023

Latrice Booker

Latrice Booker

Indiana University Northwest
Gary, IN 46408


Alexandra Rivera

Alexandra Rivera

University of Michigan Library
Ann Arbor, MI 48109


Larry Neal

Larry Neal

Clinton-Macomb Public Library
Clinton Township, MI 48038


Term 2019–2022

Eboni M. Henry

Eboni M. Henry

D.C. Public Schools
Washington, D.C. 20011


Karen G. Schneider

Karen G. Schneider

Sonoma State University Library
Rohnert Park, CA 94928


Term 2018–2021

Tamika Barnes

Tamika Barnes

Georgia State University Library
Dunwoody, GA 30338


Ed Garcia

Ed Garcia

Cranston Public Library
Cranston, RI 02920


Maria McCauley

Maria McCauley, Ph.D.

Cambridge Public Library
Cambridge, MA 02145


Related Documents

Executive Board Job Description (PDF)

ALA President and Executive Director Roles & Responsibilities (PDF)