Endowment Trustees

Charge

The Trustees have the authority to hold, invest, reinvest and disburse endowment funds as directed by the Executive Board; recommend endowment operating procedures and assumptions to the Executive Board; select endowment investment managers; report endowment status to the Executive Board, Council and Membership.

The Endowment Trustees meet each spring and fall; hold monthly conference calls.

Composition

Three (3) trustees, one of whom is elected by the Executive Board annually, for a 3-year term and the ALA Treasurer (ex-officio, non-voting).

2012-2013 Roster
Position Term Began Term Ends

Chair Senior Trustee

   

John Vitali
Brooklyn Public Library
10 Grand Army Plaza
Brooklyn, NY 11238-5675
(718)230-2100, ext. 2407
(646) 265-2953 (cell)
(718) 230-6787 (fax)
j.vitali@brooklynpubliclibrary.org

2007 (Annual) 2013 (Annual)

Trustees

   

Robert A. Walton
Chief Executive Officer
Claremont University Consortium
150 E. Eighth Street
Claremont, CA  91711
909/607-3678
rwalton@cuc.claremont.edu

2008 (Annual) 2014 (Annual)

Rodney M. Hersberger
Stiern Library                    
California State University, Bakersfield
9001 Stockdale Highway
Bakersfield, CA 93311-1022
(661) 654-3042
(661) 654-3238 (fax)
rhersberger@csub.edu

2012 (Annual) 2015 (Annual)

Kate Nevins
Lyrasis
Executive Director and CEO
1438 W. Peachtree St. #200
Atlanta, GA 30309
(404) 372-6510
(404) 892-7879 (fax)
Kate.Nevins@lyrasis.org

2012 (Annual) 2015 (Annual)

Treasurer

   

James G. Neal
Columbia University
517 Butler Library
New York, NY 10027
212/854-2247
212/854-4972 (F)
jneal@columbia.edu

2010 (Annual)
(Ex-officio)
2013 (Annual)

Staff

   

Keith Michael Fiels, Executive Director
Office:  (312) 280-3205
Fax: (312) 280-5014
kfiels@ala.org
Assistant: Alicia Bastl – (312) 280-3205
abastl@ala.org

   

Gregory L. Calloway, Associate Executive Director, Finance
Office:  (312) 280-3209
Fax:  (312) 280-5272
gcalloway@ala.org
Assistant: Elaine Klimek – (312) 280-3208
eklimek@ala.org

   

Keith Brown, Senior Financial Analyst
Office:  (312) 280-4255
Fax:  (312) 280-5272
kbrown@ala.org

   

Other

   

Raj Bhatia, Vice President         Richard Coppola, CFA
Merrill Lynch
One North Wacker Drive, Suite 1950
Chicago, IL 60606
Office:  (312) 325-2676               312-325-2715
Cell:     (312) 961-0621
Fax:  (312) 696-0164      
raj_bhatia@ml.com

   

Links

Endowment Trustees Report to Executive Board (PowerPoint)
Endowment Trustees Report to Executive Board (Word)

View all financial reports.

Investment Guidelines
Finance and Audit Documents