ALA/CHILDREN'S BOOK COUNCIL (CBC) JOINT COMMITTEE

Function Statement:

To explore mutual problems concerning content, format, distribution, and promotion of juvenile books and to propose cooperative action to resolve such problems.

Established:

June, 1959

Membership:

ALA - Chair + 7 members and 1 staff liaison
CBC - Chair + 7 members and 1 staff liaison
Term: Spring, 2 Year

Roster:

David Mowery (Co-Chair, ALA, 2008-2009; member, 2006-2008)
Brooklyn Public Library
10 Grand Army Plaza
Brooklyn, NY  11238
PHONE: 718-230-2753
EMAIL: d.mowery@brooklynpubliclibrary.org

Laura Mancuso (Co-Chair, CBC, 2007-2009; member, 2006-2007)
Tricycle Press
PO Box 7123
Berkeley, CA  94707
PHONE: 510-559-1600, x3028
FAX: 510-559-1637
EMAIL: laura@tenspeed.com

Diane Benner (Intern, ALA, 2007-2009)
Prince George's County Memorial Library System
Send Mail To: 187 Lake Rd., Pasadena, MD  21122
PHONE: 301-459-6900
EMAIL: deebenner@yahoo.com

Liz Burns (ALA, 2008-2010)
New Jersey Library for the Blind and Handicapped
Send Mail To: 501 Ludlow Ave., Rear Apt., Spring Lake, NJ  07762
PHONE: 609-530-3251
EMAIL: lizzy.burns@gmail.com 

Angelica Carpenter (ALA, 2005-2009)
Arne Nixon Center for the Study of Children's Literature
California State University, Fresno
5200 N. Barton Ave. M/S ML 34
Fresno, CA 93740
PHONE: 559-278-8116
FAX: 559-278-6952
EMAIL: angelica@csufresno.edu

Kenn Goin (CBC, 2007-2009)
Bearport Publishing Co., Inc.
101 Fifth Ave., #6R
New York, NY  10003
PHONE: 212-337-8577
FAX: 212-337-8557
EMAIL: kgoin@bearportpublishing.com

RasShahn Johnson-Baker (2008-2010)
Penguin Young Readers Group
345 Hudson St., 15th floor
New York, NY  10014
PHONE: 212-414-3445
EMAIL: rasshahn.johnson-baker@us.penguingroup.com

Angus Killick (2008-2010)
Hyperion Books for Children
114 Fifth Ave.
New York, NY  10011
PHONE: 212-633-4420
EMAIL: angus.killick@disney.com

April Judge (ALA, 2006-2010)
West Caldwell Public Library
Send Mail To: 1 Willard Pl., Morristown, NJ  07960
PHONE: 973-226-5441
FAX: 973-228-7572
EMAIL: bookdirector@yahoo.com

Tracy Lerner (CBC, 2007-2009)
Random House Children's Books
1745 Broadway
New York, NY 10018
PHONE: (212) 782-9275
EMAIL: tlerner@randomhouse.com

Julia Maguire (CBC Intern, 2008-2010)
Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
1230 Ave. of the Americas, 4th floor
New York, NY  10020
PHONE: 212-698-7403
EMAIL: julia.maguire@simonandschuster.com

Donna P. Miller (ALA, 2007-2009)
Mesa County Valley School District #51
Send Mail To: 4175 Applewood Ct., Grand Junction, CO 81506
PHONE: 970-254-5482
EMAIL: dmiller@mesa.k12.co.us

Olivia Morales (ALA Intern, 2008-2010)
Brooklyn Public Library
Send Mail To: 985 St. John's Place, Brooklyn, NY  11213
PHONE: 718-236-1760
EMAIL: positivgal@gmail.com

Mercier Robinson (ALA, 2007-2009)
Cleveland Public Library
325 Superior Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44114
PHONE: 216-623-2831
FAX: 216-623-7015
EMAIL: merce.robinson@cpl.org

Dina Sherman (CBC, 2007-2009)
HarperCollins Children's Books
1350 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY  10019
PHONE: 212-261-6789
EMAIL: dina.sherman@harpercollins.com

Reka Simonsen (2008-2010)
Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
175 Fifth Ave., 10th floro
New York, NY  10010
PHONE: 646-307-5276
EMAIL: reka.simonsen@hholt.com

Donna Spurlock (2008-2009)
Charlesbridge Publishing
85 Main St.
Watertown, MA  02742
PHONE: 617-926-0329 x122
EMAIL: dspurlock@charlesbridge.com

Ruth Toor (ALA, 2007-2009)
Consultant; Editor, The School Librarian's Workshop
1 Deerfield Ct.
Basking Ridge, NJ  07920
PHONE: 908-766-7234
FAX: 973-635-2614
EMAIL: rootbr@juno.com

Hilda K. Weisburg (ALA, 2008-2010)
38 Indigo Lane
Aberdeen, NJ  07747
PHONE: 732-566-1995
EMAIL: hildakw@gmail.com

ALA Staff Liaison

Diane Foote
Association for Library Service to Children
50 East Huron St.
Chicago, IL 60611
PHONE: 312-280-2162
FAX: 312-280-5271
EMAIL: dfoote@ala.org

CBC Staff Liaison

Kelly Giordano
Children's Book Council
12 West 37th St.
New York, NY 10018
PHONE: 212-966-1990
FAX: 212-966-2073
EMAIL: kelly.giordano@cbcbooks.org