ALA's Hours & Holiday Closures

The offices of the American Library Association are open from 8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. CT, Monday – Friday and our Customer Service Center is open for calls from 10am – 2pm CT.

2020 Holiday Closures 

  • New Year's Day, Wednesday, January 1
  • Martin Luther King's Birthday, Monday, January 20
  • Presidents' Day, Monday, February 17
  • Memorial Day, Monday, May 25
  • Independence Day (observed), Friday, July 3
  • Labor Day, Monday, September 7
  • Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 26
  • Day After Thanksgiving, Friday, November 27
  • Christmas Eve, Thursday, December 24
  • Christmas Day, Friday, December 25

Weather Extreme Closures

Any of ALA 's office locations may close in response to local weather extremes.