Budget Analysis & Review Committee (BARC)


To review the proposed budget, as forwarded by the ALA executive board, in the context of the ALA strategic plan, annual priorities and budget assumptions; to review the financial performance of the association and the budget impact of potential actions of ALA council; to make budget recommendations to the ALA executive board and to report to council regarding budget analysis and process.


Ann M. Martin (Chair, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016)
Mario M. Gonzalez (ALA Treasurer, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2016)
James G. Neal (Executive Board Member, September 18, 2013, to June 30, 2016)
Gina A. Persichini (Executive Board Member, July 1, 2015, to July 31, 2017)
Ms. Maggie Farrell (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2019)
Lori Goetsch (Member, February 14, 2014, to July 31, 2017)
Mr. Julius C. Jefferson, Jr. (Member, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2018)
Dr. Rhea Brown Lawson (Member, July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2019)
Bernard A. Margolis (Member, July 1, 2015, to May 1, 2016)
Jo Ann Pinder (Member, July 1, 2013, to June 30, 2016)
Keith D. Brown (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2020)
Latasha Bryant (Staff Liaison, December 10, 2014, to July 31, 2020)
Brad Geene (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to October 1, 2020)
Joanne Lee (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to October 1, 2020)
Mark Leon (Staff Liaison, June 1, 2015, to December 31, 2021)
Denise Moritz (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2014, to October 1, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2015. Last retrieved on 07/25/2017. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


The Budget Analysis & Review Committee (BARC) consists of nine (9) Members:

  • Two (2) ALA Executive Board Members, with staggered two-year terms
  • Six (6) ALA Members, with staggered four-year terms
  • ALA Treasurer (ex-officio voting)

A Chair is selected from among the non-Executive Board members.

Executive Board Members and ALA Members may not be reappointed once they have served on the Committee for four (4) years. The maximum four (4) years need not be consecutive and need not be served as the same member type. For example, one could serve as an Executive Board Member for two (2) years and an ALA Member for two (2) years.

Three (3)-year Treasurer terms do not count towards the four (4) years of Committee service outlined above. Therefore, one may serve as Treasurer for three (3) years and a combination of Executive Board Member/ALA Member for four (4) years, for a total of seven (7) years.

Subcommitees and Task Forces

Meeting Dates

October 19, 2016

January 20, 2017

April 10-11, 2017

Staff Liaison

Mark Leon
Work Phone: (312) 280-4261
Fax: (312) 280-5272
American Library Association
50 E Huron St
Chicago, IL 60611-2788