The ALA Awards Committee shall make recommendations to the executive board and the ALA council on all policies relating to ALA distinguished service, exemplary accomplishment, and/or achievement awards, and ALA book/media awards to be made or sponsored by ALA and its units. It shall administer all such awards presented in the name of the American Library Association, known as “ALA general awards.” all ALA general awards shall recognize achievements within the profession. The committee shall review periodically the appropriateness of existing ALA general awards; shall recommend modification, elimination, or suspension of existing ALA general awards as needed; and shall make recommendations with respect to proposed new ALA general awards. The committee shall appoint juries to select recipients of ALA general awards (i.e., awards not administered by a unit of the association), and shall coordinate the work of these juries and committees. The committee will work with other units of the association to coordinate tracking, statistics, and other information about all awards sponsored by ALA and its units. The awards committee shall be responsible for maintaining the ALA awards manual, which includes information for all awards presented by ALA or any of its units; it shall also provide general guidance regarding the procedural aspects of the awards program (such as information concerning deadline dates and publicity releases). Each unit of ALA shall determine, within the general policies governing awards, new awards relating to its specific area of responsibility, known as “ALA unit awards.” each unit shall review periodically the appropriateness of its existing awards; and shall modify, eliminate, or suspend its existing award(s) and shall handle all details and expenses with respect to its award(s). Each unit will submit its proposals for new awards or changes to existing unit awards as prescribed in the ALA awards manual to the ALA Awards Committee at a regular meeting of the committee at least six months prior to the anticipated date of advertisement. The awards committee will review and provide assistance to the unit on questions of procedure and coordination with other ALA units. All new awards must be reported prior to the implementation date to the awards committee, executive board, and council. Each unit is also responsible for submitting complete records as prescribed in the ALA awards manual concerning its award(s) to the awards committee in order that the ALA awards manual may be maintained.


Dr. Susan E. Anderson (Chair, July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2010)
Romina Gutierrez (Member, July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2010)
Mrs. Maria Nathalie Hristov (Member, July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2010)
Andrea R. Lapsley (Member, July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2010)
Dorothy J. Ownes (Member, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2011)
Dawn J. Zeig (Member, July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2010)
Deana Groves (Intern, July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2010)
Cheryl Malden (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2005, to June 30, 2020)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2009. Last retrieved on 08/17/2017. Members can log in to view full contact information for committee members.


Awards donors are ineligible for appointment to the committee. By council action in February, 1962, membership was increased in size from five to nine members. Chairperson to be appointed annually.