Beta Phi Mu, the library and information studies international honor society, was founded at the University of Illinois in August, 1948, by a group of leading librarians and library educators. Aware of the notable achievements of honor societies in other professions, they believed that such a society would have much to offer librarianship and library education. The first initiation was held in the spring of 1949 at the University of Illinois. The society was ably served by Rolland Stevens as first President and Harold Lancour as first Executive Secretary.

Its significance was recognized in 1969 when Beta Phi Mu was formally admitted to membership in the Association of College Honor Societies. In 1998, the society became an affiliate of the American Library Association. 

Conference Dates & Sites

Meets in conjunction with ALA

*Officers change July 2018


Vicki Gregory, Ph.D. (2016-2019)
Professor, School of Information
University of South Florida
College of Arts and Sciences
4202 E. Fowler Ave., CIS 2036
Tampa, FL 33620
(813) 974-3520


Elaine Yontz, Ph.D.
Master of Library Science Program
Professor, Department of Interdisciplinary Professions
College of Education
East Carolina University
Ragsdale 112-Mail Stop 172
Greenville, NC 27858-4353
(252) 737-1150

Executive Director/Headquarters

Alison M. Lewis, Ph.D.
Beta Phi Mu Headquarters
PO Box 42139
Philadelphia, PA 19101
(267) 361-5018