AASL Upcoming Webinars


 

The Common Core and the Public Librarian: Reaching Patrons and Students

Thursday, May 8, 2014
6:00 p.m. Eastern / 5:00 p.m. Central / 4:00 p.m. Mountain / 3:00 p.m. Pacific

REGISTER NOW

In this webinar, discover how public and school librarians can work together to implement the Common Core State Standards in their school community. Attendees will learn about the Common Core State Standards, discover resources to help public librarians understand and use the CCSS, and identify the ways public librarians can support school librarians and patrons navigate through these standards. 

Presenters: Margaux DelGuidice and Kathryn Roots Lewis

Margaux DelGuidice is a teacher librarian at Garden City High School in Garden City, NY and a youth services librarian at the Freeport Memorial Library. She is a contributing editor for the Publishers Weekly "Cut To The Core Column" and is co-author of the book, Make A Big Impact @ Your School Board Meeting. Library Journal has recognized her as a 2013 Mover and Shaker for her advocacy efforts. Follow her on Twitter: @metadatachick. E-mail her: metadatachick@gmail.com

Kathryn Roots Lewis is the Director of Media Services and Instructional Technology for Norman Public Schools. She has been a both a school librarian and a classroom teacher. Kathryn has co-authored a book and several articles. She is the co-writer of the AASL/Achieve document entitled Implementing the Common Core State Standards: The Role of the School Librarian available free online at AASL. Kathryn was named as Oklahoma's Outstanding Technology Leader in 2012 and as an Oklahoma Library Association Library Legend. Kathryn is the current Chair of the AASL Supervisors Section (SPVS), is a member of the AASL Common Core State Standards Task Force, and the Chair of the AASL/ALSC/YALSA Common Core Task Force. 

Attendance during the live webinar is open to all. A seat in the live webinar is guaranteed to the first 100 attendees. The webinar will be archived and all registrants will receive the archive link 3-5 days after the event. As a webinar registrant, you will receive follow up correspondence from AASL.

Repackaging Research - Recipe for the Common Core

Tuesday, May 20, 2014
7:00 p.m. Eastern / 6:00 p.m. Central / 5:00 p.m. Mountain / 4:00 p.m. Pacific

REGISTER NOW

As a follow-up to the AASL archived webinar - Brains Change @ Your Library - this webinar will address how to ensure your research "projects" are challenging today's hyperconnected. Research - done correctly - will hit almost every one of AASL's Standards for the 21st-Century Learner and the "anchor standards" in the CCSS. This webinar will cover:

  • Moving beyond "information Hide 'n Seek" 
  • Why research is the next big thing
  • Reaching the hyperconnected
  • Reaching teachers and administrators
  • Technology integration  

Presenter:

AASL member Paige Jaeger facilitates 84 libraries in the “upstate” New York region. She has been a librarian at both the elementary and secondary levels. Paige writes frequently for SLJ and other professional journals on topics such as the Common Core and Inquiry Based Learning. Her first book, co-authored with Mary Ratzer, was recently published by Libraries Unlimited: Rx for the Common Core: Toolbox for Inquiry Based Learning. Their next book, Think Tank Library, is due out in 2014. She herself is a Cybrarian and a lemon loaf aficionado.

Attendance at the live webinar is open to all. Only AASL members and AASL eCOLLAB subscribers will have access to the webinar archive. A seat in the live webinar is guaranteed to the first 100 attendees. As a webinar registrant, you will receive follow up correspondence from AASL.