Coaching the Leader Within

Tuesday, October 7, 2014
8:00 p.m. Eastern / 7:00 p.m. Central / 6:00 p.m. Mountain / 5:00 p.m. Pacific

REGISTER NOW

More librarians than realize it have leadership traits within. This webinar is designed to coach and develop those skills to better meet and accomplish the demands of today’s school librarian. Developing individuals into leaders requires coaching. Coaches know the big picture, develop trust and respect, make reasonable demands, hold others accountable, delegate work and develop individuals. In this webinar you will identify coaching techniques to sharpen leadership skills in yourself and to assist you in guiding a team. You will compare coaching dispositions to leadership qualities. Learn how to clarify roles that will hold colleagues and students responsible for the work they perform. Discover reflective practices that will coach you toward improved attitudes that support the skills needed to perform the many tasks you do.

Learning goals:

  • Identify coaching techniques that sharpen leadership skills.
  • Compare coaching dispositions to leadership qualities.
  • Help team members accept increasing levels of responsibility. 
  • Discover methods needed to practice reflection.

Presenter:

Ann M. Martin is the retired Educational Specialist for Library Information Services for Henrico County Public Schools in Richmond, Virginia. She is a Past President of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), and a recipient of the 2011 AASL National School Library Program of the Year Award for the district and the 2002 AASL National School Library Program of the Year Award for an individual school. Ann is author of Seven Steps to an Award-Winning School Library Program (LU, 2012).

Attendance is open to all. A seat in the live webinar is guaranteed to the first 100 attendees. As a webinar registrant, you will receive follow up correspondence from AASL.